We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karrawa Guest House
Ranked #2 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here for 1 night while on business in Kirkwall. The guest house is very clean and comfortable. Breakfast can be ordered the night before, there is an excellent variety. You can choose what time you require it and there is no waiting for it to be cooked. If you are not driving, the guest house is on a bus route and can be reached easily from the ferry port or the airport, the bus stop is just a 2 min walk with a frequent bus service.There are lots of information leaflets and books in the rooms and in the reception but if there is something you need or want to know you only have to ask. Albert and Aileen will book you a taxi, order a takeaway, answer your questions. The perfect hosts, highly recommended guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyFun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review, it was lovely meeting you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our freshly cooked breakfast :) It makes everything so worthwhile when our guests are happy with their stay. Thanks again ad Best Wishes, Albert & Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

stayed in the Karrawa guest house for 2 nights, very clean, very comfy, and a great breakfast.
I would recommend this guest house to anyone going over to Kirkwall. I will definitely be staying again if I go back to Kirkwall with my family. It is easy a 4 star rating if not more, well run guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your excellent review! It is great to know that we are doing a good job and that you had such a lovely stay. Thank you for recommending us so highly. Best Wishes, Albert & Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My only regret about the Karrawa Guest House is that I only had the opportunity to stay there for a single night. One would be hard pressed to find a guest house as well run as the Karrawa. Albert and Aileen are extremely well organized. This included an excellent guest information binder in my room, and pre-selection of both dining times and menu the night before. (And breakfast was delicious!) My room was spacious and comfortable, the shower was big enough even for a big guy like me. Excellent, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeExpeditionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your super review! We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and you found your room spacious. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast also :) All the best, Albert & Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great hospitality and charming welcome, very comforting upon arrival on a dreary night and quite late. Comfortable room with all amenities provided; interesting and diverse info material and a good night's rest alongside a healthy and delicious breakfast helped us into a nice day out. The owner very graciously helped to provide our next accomodation as the house was booked out for the next night! We would gladly have stayed on and can fully recommend a stay at the Karrawa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! We are really pleased that you had a comfortable stay and are delighted that you would recommend staying here at Karrawa, we really appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time on Orkney. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We started with the warmest of welcomes and the weekend just kept getting better. Amazingly clean, wonderfully warm, with all the amenities that we were looking for. The breakfast was perfection itself, everything you ask for, perfectly cooked exactly when we wanted it. I look forward to returning to the Karrawa. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted that you found the facilities and the breakfast to a high standard. We look forward to your return. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly, comfortable and welcoming with off road parking on the outskirts of the town, have used it before and the new owners are providing a very good service. Easy access to Kirkwall and the airport with plenty of information available on the amenities of The Orkney Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It was pure chance l stayed here as booked by a friend on my behalf, and WHAT a good turn that was. Scrupulously clean , nicely spacious with very comfortable furnishings . I like the electric heating that one can choose the settings., nothing worse than arriving chilled to the bone and having to wait for the timed heating to come on.
Breakfast was first class with a good choice of cereals , FRESH fruits and juices of all kinds to choose from and beautifully cooked food served very promptly. Top marks too for the porridge only problem the portion was much to big for me !!
Staff helped by carrying my luggage up to my room for me and most helpful on local information. I strongly recommend this for truly relaxing comfortable break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you so much for your brilliant review! We really appreciate your kind words. We try our best to offer comfortable accommodation, delicious breakfasts each morning and we always try and prepare our fresh fruit salad with tasty fruits that are in season and we are glad you enjoyed it along with a bowl of hearty porridge! :) We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Thanks again and Best Wishes, Aileen & Albert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karrawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrawa Guest House

Address: Inganess Road, Kirkwall KW15 1SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range: £68 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karrawa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karrawa Guest House is set in the centre of Kirkwall and within 2.5 miles of the airport and ferry terminal. This family run property offers comfortable, modern en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. Kirkwall town centre is less than a mile away with an easy 15minute walk into town or 2 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Karrawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karrawa Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing