We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome assured”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellavista Guest House
Ranked #8 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A welcoming and caring host, Patsy was full of helpful advice and the hall is well stocked with ideas of places to see and activities to do. Even a large OS map for planning trips further afield. It is well located if with your own transport, just out of the centre of Kirkwall. Great for watching the boats coming and going.
Having a range of options for breakfast and hence cost is such a good idea but one we had not come across elsewhere. The rooms are modest but most adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubsandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We booked this for a 3 days in Orkney with my sister and her husband. It was on a nice quiet street with plenty of free parking.
Patsy was a wonderful hostess, especially dealing with us! We were kind of fun-loving middle aged family and she joined in! Her breakfasts were very very good.
The bird feeders outside the breakfast room window (and our room window) were full of a variety of birds and made for interesting show!
I slept here better than anywhere else on our vacation! The rooms were pretty and comfortable with nice amenities.
There was a "dining" room available with table and chairs, silverware, dishes, refrigerator for cold breakfasts anytime. We were able to enjoy wine and snacks there together in the evening.
There is nothing that wasn't just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mygraygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay.Really enjoyed everything about the Bellavista.Patsy is very helpful and welcoming.Breakfasts are great,the choices being very varied and extensive.Room was A1 as indeed was the en-suite;very clean with all facilities normally required including complimentary WiFi.Perfectly situated about a mile(20 minute walk) to the town centre.As the name suggests the views over Kirkwall Bay are stunning,especially the sunsets.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This really is an excellent B&B. Very comfortable rooms and a refreshingly wide range of price options depending on your breakfast option. Warm welcome from your hosts and plenty of good local advice. Exceptional value and we were reluctant to leave after five nights.
It is however about one mile from Kirkwall town centre which is fine for a stroll down for dinner on a sunny evening but wind and rain will mean sobriety and a car drive; unless you want to splash on a taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimc352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Very neat and clean rooms. All kinds of breakfast. A lounge and breakfastroom. Just to good to be true. We've stayed here for 3 nights with pleasure. Very friendly host too. Oh, and if it comes to money. This is the best price you're going to get! Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annejanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

All the previous reviews have said it all! This is an exceptional B&B where everything has been thought of and considerately provided. I wish there could be a Bellavista everywhere I go! The best B&B I've stayed in. Thank you to the Walls family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

I have been staying in the Bellavista (on business) for one week. I normally go to another B&B, but is was full up. What a find!!

The house is beautifully located near to Kirkwall bay. My room is spotlessly clean, very comfortable, with its own air conditioning system, flat screen TV, etc. Fluffy towelling bath robe provided, along with fresh towels and nice toiletries. WiFi (which works perfectly) is throughout the house.

The house is very peaceful. Breakfast is from 7:15 am. The cooked option is absolutely top notch, whilst cold option with hone made cheeses and chutneys is also excellent.

A separate guests living room is provided (very comfortable) with snacks available at any time. Computer and selection of books also available.

This is an outstanding B&B run by a quiet, friendly family. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shore
The Shore
#10 of 26 in Kirkwall
190 reviews
1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Guest House

Address: Bellavista Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellavista Guest House where we strive to make guests feel they are staying in their own home from home. Bellavista is an Orcadian family run Guest House in a quiet, peaceful area of Kirkwall, Orkney. Bellavista is situated near the shore and is a 5 minute car journey or a 15-20 minute shore hugging walk from Kirkwall harbour. Free Internet Access Throughout the Guest House we have free Wi-Fi and a guest computer with free internet access and a printer. Dietary Requirements Bellavista tries as much as possible to accommodate all dietary needs, please discuss any requirements when booking Own Private Car Park Bellavista has its own large private off-street car park where we can have anything from vintage tractors, to buses or vans and lorries staying with us. Locked Bicycle Store We welcome guests who travel to Orkney on their bicycles or hire ones in Kirkwall. Guests are given a key to our locked shed and are able to access the bikes whenever they want, not depending on us to open it up for them. Guest Laundry Room Bellavista has a Guest Laundry Room where clothes can be washed and tumbled dry for £8.00 per load. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing