We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Orkney”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellavista Guest House
Ranked #5 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having deciding to go to Orkney at short notice we 'googled' accommodation in Orkney and a few popped up and some did not even reply !! The owner Patsy replied and was able to fit us in for 5 days which was good for us. The Bellavista is absolutely 1st class as you have a choice of Breakfast options if you don't want a full Scottish Breakfast every morning we did every 2nd day as it was so good with porridge to die for as they say !! The Jams and Marmalades etc.. are all homemade too !! They also have a lounge with facilities for heating your own food for lunch or dinner and menus for the local take away's if you fancy a night in after a long day's touring and a large fridge for guests use too. The rooms are spotless and have excellent facilities with free Wi-fi with coffee and tea and biscuits for a wee cuppa before bedtime. Owners Patsy and Alan really make you feel at home and we felt like it was our own holiday home ! and a good base for touring the Island ( we were lucky with the weather ) thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Like many Orkney buildings the outside is nothing special but the welcome, the breakfasts and the comfortable room are just perfect. Mostly birdwatchers when we stayed there but it is not an exclusively birdwatchers' base. Free WiFi, laundry facilities too. A sliding scale of breakfast rates too, from make your own toast and cereal to the 'full Orkney'. Fresh mild cheese made in the kitchen. We felt very much at home and did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PennyPlain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A friend and I recently took my Aunt to this Guest House on a rare holiday. I could not have been happier with our choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Orkney. Everything was very well thought out - a lovely lounge in which to relax, watch TV or have a snack, a choice of breakfast in the dining room or to suit yourself in the lounge, wonderful rooms with excellent facilities. It was clean, comfortable and had many little touches - I especially appreciated the bottle of water each day. The people who ran it were very friendly and helpful and I have no hesitation in recommending a stay there. Certainly I was thrilled for my aunt as she rarely gets away and it made my holiday to see her have so much enjoyment. A lovely view and just out of town enough for beautiful scenery but close enough to go in and eat or shop. Also recommend Grimbister cheese while you are there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From the outside, this place doesn't look like much, but my expectations were pleasantly exceeded. The location was great for us, just outside town, almost on the water, and convenient parking. The room was fairly basic, but had everything we needed including a closet with shelves, a large bathroom with a great shower, a beverage station with snacks and individual heating/cooling controls. The wifi worked fine. We didn't use the tv in our room or the computer station in the lobby. I liked the opportunity to choose how extensive of a breakfast you want. Some of the reviewers have raved about the cooked breakfasts, but we opted for the lighter, self-serve option and were fully content using the guest lounge. Patsy told us we could use the huge refrigerator for personal items if we wanted. There were also biscuits and snacks available for purchase which came in very handy on a couple of our hikes. I was surprised and delighted at how quiet our room was and think this was partly due to good planning and solid construction. We were provided with excellent maps and information. Two nights was definitely not enough time to explore the amazing sights. I think we could have spent a week. The value for the price seemed excellent to me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Can think of nothing negative at all about this bed and breakfast. Patsy and Alan were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Myself and my disabled Dad stayed for four nights and the accomodation, welcome, help, breakfasts were all excellent. Shame it is so far away. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.very clean, warm and fantastic facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajmoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A really enjoyable stay, fist class on every level. The hosts welcome you like family guests and provide excellent facilities. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with good showers. Cooking facilities in the lounge and a laundry room -really useful. Best of all, the amazing home cooked breakfasts with a wide variety of options including wonderful home made cheeses and jams. We recommend Bellavista without reservation.

Steve'n'Pip

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippa_bellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at this fantastic B&B. Everything was provided for, clean and shiny, great breakfasts. The rooms have tea making facilities with biscuits. Friendly and helpful atmosphere. Would recommend Bella Vista to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoggroomerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkwall hotels
1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shore
The Shore
#10 of 26 in Kirkwall
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hildeval Bed & Breakfast
Hildeval Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 26 in Kirkwall
145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#12 of 26 in Kirkwall
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Guest House

Address: Bellavista Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellavista Guest House where we strive to make guests feel they are staying in their own home from home. Bellavista is an Orcadian family run Guest House in a quiet, peaceful area of Kirkwall, Orkney. Bellavista is situated near the shore and is a 5 minute car journey or a 15-20 minute shore hugging walk from Kirkwall harbour. Free Internet Access Throughout the Guest House we have free Wi-Fi and a guest computer with free internet access and a printer. Dietary Requirements Bellavista tries as much as possible to accommodate all dietary needs, please discuss any requirements when booking Own Private Car Park Bellavista has its own large private off-street car park where we can have anything from vintage tractors, to buses or vans and lorries staying with us. Locked Bicycle Store We welcome guests who travel to Orkney on their bicycles or hire ones in Kirkwall. Guests are given a key to our locked shed and are able to access the bikes whenever they want, not depending on us to open it up for them. Guest Laundry Room Bellavista has a Guest Laundry Room where clothes can be washed and tumbled dry for £8.00 per load. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellavista Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing