We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
James R
A peaceful stay in a pretty and practical location!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2021via mobile
I travelled to Orkney to catch up with my daughter who lives on the island. Bellavista was perfect, just outside the main town in a quiet waterside location. The room was clean, comfy and quiet. Although I didn't have an on suite the private bathroom for my room was just over the corridor and again was clean and tidy. I opted for light breakfast with a selection of cereals, bread for toast and plenty of tea and coffee. Next time I will go for the cooked breakfast option !!!

Thanks for a pleasant stay, I will come back.
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
aerial view
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£174
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£161
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £161
1.6 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 2 superior superking or twin beds  with en-suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.8 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £212
  • Vio.com
0.9 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room 6
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £113
  • eDreams
1.4 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double En-suite with Super King-Size bed
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.7 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Bellavista Guest House
Free parking
View more hotels in Kirkwall
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
124
20
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
20
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bella vista breakfast options room was spotless loved our stay wide choice base for touring spent nights here great host sandra hostess orkney fi soaps harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2021

Me and my partner have just returned from a lovely relaxing 6 nights at the Bellavista.
There was plenty of parking places to leave our car all week.
The guest house is in a quiet area.
We received a warm welcome from Sandra when we arrived and she told us to contact her if there was anything we needed, otherwise we were left in peace for the week.
There is hand sanitiser in the entrance and top of the stairs.
Our room and bathroom were spacious, clean and comfortable- the bed and pillows were especially comfortable and we had an excellent night sleep every night. Plenty of storage space in the room and tea, coffee and biscuits.
The guest house is an enjoyable 20 minute shoreline walk into town, which we did every day or 4 minutes drive by car.
We would definitely recommend Bellavista.
Thank you very much Sandra.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AngharadH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra Spence, Owner at Bellavista Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

I stayed here 4 nights and found Bella Vista to be comfortable, clean, and with a very helpful owner in Sandra. The breakfasts are as large or light as you wish, and the residents lounge, if you can use it thanks to Covid, is a great bonus. The location is great too...far enough out to be away from the crowds, but close enough to walk in.
I loved it.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank harrogategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra Spence, Owner at Bellavista Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2020

Comfy well situated guest house, with discreet but warm welcome
privacy guaranteed
walking distance from Kirkwall city centre
a nice place to drop the bag and discover beautiful Orkney
thank you Sandra!

Room tip: rooms with view on city centre
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra Spence, Owner at Bellavista Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2021

Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Our lodging was arranged by a tour company so we did not know what sort of accommodations we were getting. We hit the jackpot.

The Buenavista is located a short cab ride from downtown. It looks very new possibly because it is so clean. Beds were comfortable and a large shower. In the morning you g
Have several choices for hot or cold breakfasts. As you eat you can watch birds flock to the feeder located just outside the breakfast room window.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Careermanzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Navigator52418447011, Owner at Bellavista Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

So glad that you were happy staying with us and that you enjoyed watching the birds as you ate your breakfasts. Guests say they are better than any television programme.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights recently. Would definitely recommend this place.

Patsy is a fantastic host - making you feel really welcome and doing her best to ensure your stay is as pleasant as possible.

Our room was spotless. The breakfasts were excellent, using good quality local produce. The jams and marmalade are homemade and a lovely. Great idea with the variety of different breakfasts too.

Handy with a lounge with a microwave where you can heat your own food/ready meals if you don't want to dine out.

Location is fab too, great view (weather permitting!) across the bay and it's a pleasant 15-20 walk into Kirkwall centre.

We will definitely return (Patsy, perhaps you could sort out some sunny weather...please!).

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RoddyC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Navigator52418447011, Owner at Bellavista Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Thank you for your review. Its great to hear you enjoyed our breakfast options and liked the Guest Lounge facilities we provide. Disappointed that I wasnt able to control the cold wind and offer you some Orkney sunsets BUT if you had been here yesterday it was beautiful will a lovely sunset last night. Next time you come I will try harder!! Hehe!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews