We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect self-catering apartment.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
98people
Camarillo, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect self-catering apartment.”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

As Kirkwall is a small town, anywhere you stay is convenient. This apartment is situated on the outskirts of the town. It was very cozy and clean. All the amenities were there that you would want or need in a home away from home situation. The owners were available anytime you would need them, which we didn't, but had an opportunity to chat with them while there; super-friendly Orcadians! The apartment is suitable for disabled people as there are no steps and they even have a ramp for the extremely small step up to patio. It was super quiet too. I stayed there with my 85-year old mother and aunt: it was perfect for the three of us. There are two separate bedrooms which accommodated them nicely, while I slept on a very comfortable portable bed in the living room. I would not hesitate to stay here again if my travels bring me back to Orkney!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan G
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Very clean and welcoming accommodation a short distance from centre of Kirkwall. Modern interior with good quality furnishings and fixtures which are well maintained. Friendly owners happy to help and advise if required or if preferred give space . Two lovely bathrooms with excellent showers . Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend staying here .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmai...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Orkney”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment on the outskirts of Kirkwall is a total delight. It's easy to walk or drive into town - plenty of free parking - and in the other direction you have a lovely walk to the beach or the distilleries.
The apartment itself is beautiful, with everything provided. I always go with a box of essentials when we are self-catering, as we have on occasion found no soap and had to go and buy foil, clingfilm etc. Christine and Colin have thought of everything, and that was very impressive. There was a nice welcome pack of goodies when we arrived, and plenty of advice and guidance if we needed it.
We could have stayed much longer than a week, and I'm sure we will return, certainly to Wayward Apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mdolly_82
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself and my friend have just come back from spending a few days here, we couldn't of asked for anything more it was perfect, beds were comfy clean and fresh bedding, whole apartment was clean and tidy, Colin and Christine were very friendly and helpful. Very accessible for anyone with disability issues. We will definitely be booking again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter L
1 review
“Perfect apartement”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderfull apartement, very clean and spacious. Everything you may need is in it s place. perfect for two couples. Just 15 minutes on foot to the center of kirwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William T
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Highly recommend this apartment. It was BRILLIANT! Very clean and was like a home from home. The owner is very helpful and kind. Definitely coming next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pflannery...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb apartment in excellent location”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for a week in June 2016, having travelled up for the Jutland commemoration. The apartment was spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. It is in a great location on the edge of town, with a 15min walk into the centre of Kirkwall with its lively pubs and restaurants if you don't want to take the car. The owners are kind and very helpful if you need it - and low profile if you don't! We would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing