We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home from Home”
Review of Avalon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avalon House
Ranked #6 of 26 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Largs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Avalon House last week for 3 nights and nothing disappointed. Jane made us feel at home immediately and went over everything there was to know to help us settle in quickly. She and Alastair were born to run Hotels and Guest houses and do so with great expertise. All parts of the house are spotless. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom had a shower - very powerful - and a corner bath. Again all immaculate . The house was warm and welcoming and could not have been in a better location for Kirkwall.
Looking around I felt we had made a first class choice for our visit to Orkney as this property stands out as one of the best.
Jane is everything you should be when running a guest house. She deserves top marks as a hostess as well as serving first class food in her very well appointed dining room.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a sea view and is very large . The little room off is a great space for storing cases etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeoutLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
85
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed an awesome stay at this B&B, excellent facilities, spotlessly clean, a delicious breakfast and a brilliant hostess. 5 minutes from Kirkwall, this is a must. I will definitely be visiting again... 5*

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Shetland Islands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed a night at Avalon last summer and, when I knew that we were due to stay in Kirkwall for 2 more nights, I didn't hesitate to book here again.
The guest house is furnished to an extremely high standard and the hostess and host are both very welcoming and friendly. We were very comfortable during our stay and the breakfast is wonderful.
Although slightly away from central Kirkwall, the coastal and countryside views from the house are lovely.
If you have occasion to stay in Kirkwall, I very much doubt that you could improve upon Avalon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms and they were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shetlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have stayed at Avalon on a few occasions and somehow the incredibly high standard there just gets better. My most recent visit was in January 2014 for two nights and the bed and breakfast was looking its usual immaculate self. The shower was superb with a very high water pressure, and I always love the view from the breakfast room which overlooks Kirkwall harbour. The place is in a quiet location about a 20-minute walk from Kirkwall.This couple have a winning formula, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The B&B rooms have been purpose built by a couple who used to run a large hotel, it shows they knew what they were doing.
The whole place is top quality, very well maintained and spotlessly clean. It felt more like a boutique-y hotel than a B&B.
Breakfast included good Scottish options and was good quality and good quantity.
As we were staying there with another couple, the only down-side was the lack of a guest lounge.

Room Tip: All rooms are identical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatureChaletGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for three nights at this fantastic bed and breakfast. It had the whole shebang. Jane could not have been more helpful and the fantastic breakfast bags to take away as we were on the early ferry was just amazing. I would recommend this to bed and breakfast to all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BossScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived in Kirkwall on a rainy evening after a bumpy flight from Stornoway, via Inverness, and were so grateful for the warm friendly greeting from Jane and Alasdair. After we dried off, Alasdair drove us back to town with suggestions for places for a meal. Our room was spacious, spotless, bright and airy and very well-appointed. The bathroom was large with a great shower!The Avalon is a purpose built, modern B and B, right on the bay and only a 2 minute drive or a pleasant,flat 15 minute walk into town.
Jane's breakfast was wonderful - kippers, local sausage, free range eggs, nothing was too much trouble. Helpful advice and information leaflets about things to see and do in Orkney are cheerfully given. I would heartily recommend the Avalon as one of the best B and Bs in UK!

Room Tip: All rooms are large, bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.1 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
314 reviews
1.7 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Property: Avalon House
Address: Avalon Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Avalon House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing