We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base to explore Orkney from”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room - View 1 - 2 comfy leather sofas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room - View 1 - 2 comfy leather sofas
Living Room - View 2 - Cosy air-source heating throughout Living Room - View 3 - Free WiFi and Freeview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Living Room - View 1 - 2 comfy leather sofas
Living Room - View 2 - Cosy air-source heating throughout
Living Room - View 3 - Free WiFi and Freeview
Bedroom - View 1 - King size bed
Bedroom - View 2 - Spacious bedroom
Bedroom - View 3 - Plenty wardrobe space and storage
Front - tubs of seasonal flowers
Modern kitchen, includes hob, oven, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer
Comfortable dining in very well equipped kitchen
Welcome Tray
Original artwork by local artist throughout accommodation
Hall - light and airy
Enclosed back garden
Heated towel rail
Large walk-in shower
Always fresh flowers, great stock of books and dvd's - both of general and local interest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
DebbieMat...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great base to explore Orkney from”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Within easy walking distance of Kirkwall, this house was an idea base for us and great to come home to each night. It was warm and comfortable and had everything in it we could possibly need. Kathleen gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and supplied us with some lovely local produce which was much appreciated. Everywhere we planned to visit was easy to drive to from here and we had a fantastic week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you for such a great review. Very positive and reassuring for all our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Ja...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location met all our needs using it as a base for visiting family. Quality of the house was very excellent and we were very happy with all the items included in the facilities

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Many thanks, we love to hear our visitors have been so happy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Lovely considerate visitors and a pleasure to have met you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Value!”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location for exploring Orkney! The home is very clean, modern and lovely. It is right across the street from a small shop where we bought everything we needed for a home cooked meal. It is a short 15-minute walk to Kirkwall center, with its shops, pubs and restaurants, including a great Italian restaurant run by Italians! We had a car and it was easy to navigate to/from Stromness and all the sites to see, including the World Heritage Sites of Skara Brae and the Ring of Brodgar. If you don't have a car, the bus stop is also right across the street. I really appreciated Kathleen's recommendations on dining at the Merkister, an off the beaten path and delightful place to watch the sun set. The other great amenity was the washer and dryer! After traveling around Scotland for weeks, I truly appreciated being able to clean and completely dry my clothes before we headed off to our next stop!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fantastic!
Liked least: Absolutely no negatives about this place!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Glad that you found the Merkister, tried it out and enjoyed it as I always do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoErn9
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house, with all facilities provided.”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our second stay at this house, enjoyed our time in Orkney, house has good transport links, and within walking distance of Kirkwall town centre. Off street parking and samples of Orkney produce provided. Small shop just across the road. Cannot fault the facilities, a true home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Always so good to welcome returning guests. No validation better than that. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila C
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely go here.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A lovely one bedroom bungalow, high spec decor, coordinating colours in each room, modern furnished, well equipped. All needs met. Goodies provided along with tea coffee and milk in the fridge as well as other basic items e.g. Oil, salt, pepper.

Best things, the bathroom mirror, the warm welcome from the owner at the airport, a shop and bus stop across the road. Nowhere can be more convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Really great recommendation for our future guests. Especially happy that, as none car users, you found the accommodation so convenient for exploring further afield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warfarinm...
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well Equipped, wonderfully clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is one of the best self-catering apartments we have stayed in. A cherry smile upon arrival, tea and biscuits put out for us and milk in the fridge! We arrived late in the evening on the ferry and this was no trouble to the owner. We were in a classic car and the parking was safely off-road. It was only a short stay, but we used the washing machine and along with everything else it worked perfectly. It is only a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre and we found a great deli in town and also used the local shop (less than 100 yards away). This property is highly recommended for a couple. We look forward to the opportunity to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and cherry greeting!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a glowing recommendation. Our mission is to try and make our visitors feel welcome and for them all to leave with a positive impression of our islands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;