We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Kirkwall”
Review of Lynnfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lynnfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Lynnfield Hotel is located between the airport and the centre of Kirkwall and has commanding views over the town. Our accomodation was luxurious - the puffin room - period furniture, supurb mattress, pillows and doona and bathroom products to match the quality of the room.
We ate dinner at the hotel several times and the quality of the experience was far superior to that which we found in the centre of town.
The wine list is to be recommended and we managed to try almost 25% of the list - a marvellous selection.
For whisky lovers you would be in your element!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the centre of Kirkwall - commanding vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrida c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Friends, now living in Orkney, met us from the excellent Pentland ferries service and booked us in to this Hotel which they had used upon their arrival - a recommendation in itself. We had the Puffin room something like "Tamidorey" in local parlance which was large and comfortable,described o the bill as a "summer deluxe" £140 B&B with an excellent breakfast. The owner has accrued one of the largest collections of Whiskies that I've ever seen = absolutely amazing

Room Tip: See above; great view over Kirkwall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our second visit was just as good as the first; excellent in all respects. "The Bu" was a very comfortable and luxuriously appointed suite of rooms and the jacuzzi bath a delight to return to after a day's walking. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant imaginative and reasonably priced for its quality. Breakfasts, with a range of options, were again excellent and the service efficient and attentive. We enjoyed the walk into town and back and did not find the slightly out of town location a disadvantage, the good views from the restaurant when the Orkney mists lifted made up for the small amount of effort involved. The proprietor Malcolm is a great host and convivial conversation in the extremely well stocked bar, should you want it, is always a possibility. He knows his whisky (and his football) well and is always happy to give you a good recommendation. We will return, again!

Room Tip: Both Tammie Norrie and The Bu highly recommended for space and overall comfort. Great bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony and Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our room was very large, with a beautiful four poster bed, a sofa, a desk and a couple of chairs, but the bathroom with its whirlpool tub, and separate shower made this place special. Lots of good light for reading, and the wi if worked great. Nice breakfast, attentive staff and we ate dinner here for the 3 nights of our Orkney stay. The food was good.

Room Tip: Any room that has a whirlpool bath, is probably going to be fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Traditional hotel about 15 minutes walk from Kirkwall centre with lovely views.
Our room wasn't huge but was well furnished with mismatched antiques giving a homely feel. Large bathroom with a separate shower, loads of towels and good toiletries.
The breakfast is excellent - loved the bere bannocks and the granola.
Evening meals are very good too - only slight quibble is with the lack of choice of vegetarian stuff, plenty for fish eaters though. The wine list is very reasonably priced. The whisky list is amazing.

The staff and owners were really welcoming and chatting in the bar with Malcolm and other guests made for very enjoyable evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue67N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed 5 nights.
Room (Scarrataing) was spacious, but wardrobe not quite deep enough to hang clothes conveniently. Bathroom was of a very high standard - would have appreciated a magnifying shaving mirror though.
Excellent breakfasts and evening meals. However breakfast is only served from 7.30 which was too late for us on 2 occasions. Instead a breakfast tray was provided, which although good was not as good as the one in the restaurant.
We were too busy touring to fully explore the facilities in the guest lounge, which looked very interesting.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with views if your stay is for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkingFolkDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We regularly stay at the Lynnfield Hotel during our annual Scotland summer trip, this time unfortunately only one night, because it was fully booked. We would have loved to stay longer. Lorna & Malcolm are doing a great job!
They are the best customers of the North Ronaldsay Mutton, as we learned at a stop-over at the Island. These sheep's live at the stony coast on North Ronaldsay and eat just sea grass. A very special dish!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TropicalCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
283 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynnfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnfield Hotel

Address: Holm Road, St Ola | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynnfield Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing