We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely feel - just want to return!”
Review of Lynnfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lynnfield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We only had 2 nights here but we felt very settled from the moment we arrived. We had our 2 dogs with us and they were made to feel as welcome as we were. The room was beautiful and very spacious and the spa bath did not go unused during our short stay. It was very relaxing to sit in the comfortable lounge area having pre-dinner drinks and then be called through when the meal was ready to be served. We ate both nights in the dining room and enjoyed our window view and the meal and then retired back to the lounge. The dogs were allowed to join us anywhere except the dining room which made for a very easy time for them and us as they loved the attention from the other guests and we did not have to leave them for very long. We both loved Orkney and even in the short time we were there could begin to understand why you would want to stay here. Everyone is friendly, says hello and smiles as you walk down the street, the entire island is immaculate - I was amazed at the effort put into the beautiful gardens throughout the island and litter - not a drop in sight! Fascinating sights to visit and we only managed the obvious ones. Already trying to plan our return visit for more than 2 days and definitely staying at The Lynnfield - a big thank you to Malcolm, Archie & the staff!
P.S. We both thought it was great value for money both at the Lynnfield and other locations that we visited.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TrueTourScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

5th Time here. Again everything is just perfekt. Great room with Whirlpool Tube. Superb Restaurant with panoramic view. Breakfast is outstanding, with vegi alternativ for the cooked plate. Good location, close to Highland Park and ziem center.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TropicalCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a very special hotel and is owner run. our four-poster bedded room had an ample sitting area and A Wee Dram plus Sherry provided an added 'complimentary' welcome. The food is exceptional and the whole experience provided a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lynnfield Hotel is a very charming and welcoming place on the outskirts of Kirkwall. We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. The owner and host, Mr. Stout, was outstanding and helped us in every way. Both the hotel and the restaurant are rather pricey, but the standard is very high. One small negative point: Not all waitresses are optimally attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just wanted to say a huge thanks - sadly stayed only one night on short trip but everything was fantastic - fabulous room, great food and really good range of beers too. Thanks for helping out when I had forgotton my cufflinks! Will be posting back today!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunbar2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Popped in for lunch, lovely food. Had carrot and coriander soup which was lovely followed by haddock, salad, chips and homemade tartare sauce which couldn't be faulted. Coffee with delicious shortbread to follow. My 3rd visit and never fails to impress me.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JillAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel was chosen by the tour operator who arranged our trip, but it turned out to be just what we wanted and it exceeded our expectations. We had a room on the ground floor which was obviously fitted out for disabled travellers. It had a bathroom as big as the bedroom and we had a sitting room as well. The meals were excellent and our only criticism is that the portions were too big! We suspect that the owner's dog had a very high class diet as it seemed to be fed on the left overs! The hotel is situated above the town next to the Highland Distillery, but there was no need to visit it as the hotel stocked well over 300 single malts.

Room Tip: If it is available, ask for the disabled room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynnfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnfield Hotel

Address: Holm Road, St Ola | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#3 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynnfield Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing