We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynnfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lynnfield Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed three nights in the Tjaldr room which wax excellent, the room was spacious well furnished and the Jacuzzi bath was an added bonus to relax in after hectic days sightseeing. The restaurant was superb with a wide choice menu to suit all tastes including my fussy husband. The whisky collection is second to none. On arrival we welcomed with complimentary drinks in our room, all the staff were helpful and happy to please.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHoldershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    45
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
126
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed four nights in the Tjaldr room which was excellent - clean, very spacious and well furnished.
I really couldn't fault any aspect of our stay - great food, friendly and helpful staff, good location, huge whisky 'library', wonderful local beers.
It's difficult to pinpoint exactly which era the building dates from but it has plenty of character and none of that corporate hotel-chain blandness that is so common elsewhere.
The situation gives good views over Kirkwall and across the bay, especially from the restaurant.
Not cheap but worth every penny.

Room Tip: The Tjaldr room has a four-poster bed and a bathroom you could park a car in but not much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were a group of seven adults visiting Orkney for a few days in June 2014. We stayed three nights at the Lynnfield, in three doubles and one single. The rooms were spacious and welcoming, with tea/coffee, biscuits and even some drinks on the house. The ensuite bathrooms were also large and provided an impressive selection of soap etc. The hotel restaurant offered several kinds of breakfast, and we also had dinner there on two occasions – everyone loved the food, and we tried most of the dishes. The hotel is located next to the Highland Park distillery, and we walked over there for an interesting guided tour one morning. The walk down to central Kirkwall takes about 20 minutes. There's also a bus going past the hotel driveway heading for the centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aksel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in the ground floor mobility impaired room, and am very glad we did! Lovely sitting room and huge, easily accessible bathroom, comfortable beds. The food was good, breakfast plentiful although the server seemed somewhat distracted on our first breakfast and we never got our coffee. Easy access to the Orkney sites and downtown Kirkwall for a stroll or a pub. Lovely town, nice hosts!

Room Tip: If it's available and you have an issue climbing stairs, ask for the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We only had 2 nights here but we felt very settled from the moment we arrived. We had our 2 dogs with us and they were made to feel as welcome as we were. The room was beautiful and very spacious and the spa bath did not go unused during our short stay. It was very relaxing to sit in the comfortable lounge area having pre-dinner drinks and then be called through when the meal was ready to be served. We ate both nights in the dining room and enjoyed our window view and the meal and then retired back to the lounge. The dogs were allowed to join us anywhere except the dining room which made for a very easy time for them and us as they loved the attention from the other guests and we did not have to leave them for very long. We both loved Orkney and even in the short time we were there could begin to understand why you would want to stay here. Everyone is friendly, says hello and smiles as you walk down the street, the entire island is immaculate - I was amazed at the effort put into the beautiful gardens throughout the island and litter - not a drop in sight! Fascinating sights to visit and we only managed the obvious ones. Already trying to plan our return visit for more than 2 days and definitely staying at The Lynnfield - a big thank you to Malcolm, Archie & the staff!
P.S. We both thought it was great value for money both at the Lynnfield and other locations that we visited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueTourScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

5th Time here. Again everything is just perfekt. Great room with Whirlpool Tube. Superb Restaurant with panoramic view. Breakfast is outstanding, with vegi alternativ for the cooked plate. Good location, close to Highland Park and ziem center.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TropicalCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a very special hotel and is owner run. our four-poster bedded room had an ample sitting area and A Wee Dram plus Sherry provided an added 'complimentary' welcome. The food is exceptional and the whole experience provided a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
1.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynnfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnfield Hotel

Property: Lynnfield Hotel
Address: Holm Road, St Ola | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1SX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kirkwall
#3 Business Hotel in Kirkwall
#4 Family Hotel in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynnfield Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing