We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
267
70
30
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
70
30
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland park distillery whisky collection chairs and sofas antique furniture four poster wee dram sitting area open fire residents lounge fabulous hotel comfortable lounge first class excellent meal evening meal high standard small hotel comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2022

This is a very comfortable hotel just outside the centre of Kirkwall and very near the Highland Park distillery. From the outside it looks quite ordinary, but once inside you will see that it is packed full of antiques, and is quite quirky.

Half of the rooms are furnished with interesting antique furniture and the other half is ultra-modern but also with custom-made furniture (we sampled both types of rooms because of our late booking). The bathrooms in both wings are very modern and spacious.

The restaurant serves quite good food, though I think it depends on who is in the kitchen that day. For whisky buffs, there is a selection of hundreds in the bar.

The staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely return if I were ever in Orkney again.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2022

I was part of a small group tour. Our mass arrival was smoothly handled and we were all quickly in our rooms. My room had a good view and very comfortable bed, with all the usual accessories. nothing was wanted. Good Orkney breakfast in the mornng

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2022

Stayed in the new part of the hotel and could not have wished for better accommodation. Large comfy bed, excellent bathroom with a marvellous walk in shower.
No complaints about the meals, everything was prepared to order and cooked to perfection.
Staff all friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylfU4136VM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2022

In my opinion the best dining experience in Kirkwall ,have watched this hotel improve over the years and can honestly say it is well on par with ant 5 star hotel anywhere in the world
Had a evening meal with Cassie and Merri.
looking forward to going again.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadsideshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2022

This was our first port of call on our Orkney tour and set a gold standard for the rest of our visit. The room was in the new part of the hotel and beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The lounges are delightfully furnished, with lots of squashy sofas arranged in small groups to accommodate lots of different parties. The food is outstanding and the staff friendly and professional. Cannot fault.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews