We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent comfortable base for exploring Orkney”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney.
Dine in style in the large kitchen diner: all appliances, crockery and accessories are brand new.
Master bedroom, with tea and coffee making facilities.
Double bedroom.
Single bedroom
Hallway/Landing
Bathroom
Bathroom with shower etc.
19 St Catherine's Place
Relax in comfort in the quality furnished lounge after a day exploring Kirkwall and Orkney
Take the two minute stroll to the harbour and marina on the way to the many pubs and restuarants.
Your holiday home is in the centre of the picturesque and historic Royal Burgh of Kirkwall.
Just 150 metres away from the historic Kirkwall Harbour, and ferries to the Northern Isles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kirkwall, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian M...
1 review
“Excellent comfortable base for exploring Orkney”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Very handy for Kirkwall's facilities, including the travel centre, the inter-island ferries and the splendid cathedral. There were about 4 or 5 good bars and restaurants with in a short walk, also a small Coop and a deli.
The house was well-equipped and included a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble-dryer. The heaters are very effective in case of cold weather.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveBilli...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic property. Ideally situated for Kirkwall town centre, which is just a couple of minutes walk away.

We were there working for three weeks, it was originally 2 but we had to stay on and fortunately the house was available for the third week. Far superior to staying in hotels! The property has everything you'd need for a short or long-term stay. Washing machine came in useful and I guess that, if it was a family staying, the dishwasher would be a bonus too.

This is a solidly built stone house and can get a bit cold when not occupied, although the heating quickly takes the chill out of the air, and it was November after all, so no complaints. The road outside is well used at peak times but generally traffic noise wasn't a problem due to the thick walls. Parking was available at the end of the road and there were no time restrictions that we came across.

Deborah kept us up to speed on the local events with daily email bulletins and, although work prevented us doing too much, these bulletins would be a great source of information for anyone on holiday.

Overall, a perfect place to stay and I have no hesitation in recommending the property. We are due to return some time during 2018 and this will be the first place I will be checking for availability when the time comes.

Thank you Deborah and Steve for letting us stay at your lovely house and apologies for taking so long writing my review!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Hi. Thank you for such a comprehensive and complimentary review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will be very happy to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Clean and tidy little house. Comfortable. Plenty of free parking nearby .
Great position in town.
Kitchen a little sparse on mugs and plates .
Great place to visit to see a different side of the UK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Whilst there are enough mugs and plates for 5 people, I appreciate your comments and have now provided additional crockery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very good location only a few minutes walk from the centre of Kirkwall. The accommodation was quiet and well fitted out with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing self catering break. The owners were very helpful with advice on directions and entry to the property. They also provided a full update on Orkney events during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Hi, Ian. Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed Orkney and the house was suitable for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules468
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in a central location”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely spacious house only a short walk from the shops, pubs and restaurants of Kirkwall. Steven and Deborah looked after us extremely well from afar - sending us daily "what's on" bulletins. Welcome basket on arrival and fresh milk in the fridge - what more could anyone want. Will book again when next visiting Orkney.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed Orkney and would be very pleased to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and very central”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Within walking distance of the cathedral, The Réel, and main shopping street.
The other main attractions were easily and quickly accessible by car. We loved Orkney and were very fortunate to have four sunny, sparkling days out of six.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Orkney. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetv...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Quality house - clean, comfortable and solid. Really less than 5 minutes to seaside or to centre of town. Steve the owner couldn't have been more helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at 19 st Catherines place, kirkwall. We are happy to help where we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing