We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Maryfield House Hotel - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

I went here with a group of about 8. The service was lovely, the man serving us was very friendly and happily answered all our questions. The food I got was excellent, steak cooked to perfection. Very generous portions of veg, chips, potatoes etc were put on the table and we could have had more if we wanted. The price was fine, I don't mind paying a little extra for quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xWackix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have not been to Maryfield for a few years and we were very disappointed with the service we received, we were made to feel that servicing us was a chore even though there was only one other table of diners in the bar. . We were told we could not even order drinks before the other table arrived, so we waited for 20 minutes to order drinks. The bar was also empty - this always used to be busy so that tells its own story. When we did finally get our food it was good and plenty of it, although the menu has not changed very much in more than 15 years. we will not be rushing back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notagiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wow....”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

It is advisable to book before you go. It is about 4 minutes walk from the Ferry on Bressay just up the only hill (you cannot get lost)! The food is a delight. The steaks are to die - you can eat them with a broken jaw)! and the seafood is so fresh - if you wanted it fresher then it would have to be alive!

Please, if you go to Lerwick then take the family there (as I did) and you won't regret it. It's an adventure if you stay in Lerwick but then tell the family they are going on a ferry trip to have an evening meal....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I have no faults what so ever. Quality and quantity of food is amazing! Such large portions for a very resonable price! Can't wait to go back. Very freindly staff. A++++++++

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smiles313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Calder, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good, honest food.”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Unpretentious small hotel and bar serving superb,simple food. Outstanding fresh fish not be missed and beautifully cooked. And brilliant prices too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rasmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maryfield House Hotel also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing