We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen
The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Luxurious  bedroom with double aspect views of the sea
The breakfast room with sea views
The breakfast room is available for you to use all day
Looking north toward Lerwick harbour. 
A view from the garden
The Bressay ferry during the day.
The Bressay ferry at night
Sunset over the Ness of Sound, a 15 minute walk along the coastal path (the Sletts)
The Old Tool Booth in Lerwick
A view of historic Lerwick, the capital of Shetland.
The small boat harbour in Lerwick. A 10 minute walk from South Ness House
Lerwick harbour can cater for many types of vessels.
A part of Shetland's maritime heritage
Norwegian vessels moored in Lerwick harbour
The 'Statsraad Lehmkul' sets sail for Bergen in Norway
A view from the breakfast room. 
Cruise liners are regular summer visitors.
'In between weathers'
A Shetland expression relating to the ever changing climactic conditions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Fruduva
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very warm and welcoming place, clean rooms great view and awesome breakfast. The couple Pipa and Collin were the sweetest hosts. We wanted to move in and never leave. Strongly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Exquisite location and home to stay in”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Southness House is located at the far end of Twaegos Road and overlooks the Brei Wick and Bressay. It is a beautiful location and within easy walking distance of the centre of Lerwick. Lerwick is well positioned for exploring the rest of the largest of the three Shetland Isles.

We couldn't have been made more welcome by the hosts and their home is something to behold and we definitely plan to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scr855
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxurious in every detail, friendly and hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location with fabulous views. Very comfortable. Attention to every detail. Hosts were very welcoming and gave us some great suggestions for beautiful places to visit. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Lerwick.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allanhowa...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed for 4 days on a work visit at the end of July.
The location is central with a short walk to the city center.
I had a lovely sea view room.
The beds was extremely comfortable.
The place in spotless.
Great selection for Breakfast.
Really recommend this Guesthouse.
One small improvement, would be good to have tea/coffee in the room.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Dear Alan
Thank you for taking the time to review South Ness House.
We aim to provide a unique and personal service. Guests have 24 hour access to tea and coffee making facilities in the breakfast room. We want to avoid offering a 'Hotel experience' with long life milk and service trays in the bedroom.
We hope we can welcome you to South Ness House in the near future.
Kind regards
Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnh2014...
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accommodation in perfect location”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, solid, historic stone house located close to water edge at a point giving views up to Lerwick and out to open sea. The house has very high quality fittings (bathroom, windows, etc.) that match the style of the house. Very clean.
Exceptional breakfasts - top quality ingredients prepared perfectly. In fact, the quality of the breakfasts at least matched the quality at any of the top rated restaurants/cafes in Lerwick that we visited (Hay's Dock, Fjara). Pippa provided excellent travel guidance on things to see - beyond the usual sights (e.g. where to see otters). We really enjoyed Colin's art that decorates the house. Pippa and Colin are genuine and friendly.
We think that the house was well worth the price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pippa and Collins hospitality has been far beyond what we have expected. They gave us a lot of good advices for our trip around Shetland.
The breakfast was exellent and served with a smile. We stayed in a beautiful room with a nice bathroom - and a wonderful view.
Thank's a lot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruedigers...
Koblenz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful house and very nice hosts”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a whole week at South Ness House and left with a tear in one eye and a smile in the other. Our stay was perfect in every sense. The bombastic landscape, the beautiful weather and the friendliness of our hosts made it stunning holiday.
Pippa and Colin gave us advice and assistance in every possible way and were very nice people.
The house was beautiful and tastefully furnished. The porridge was the best I ever had. In case we will ever get back to Shetland we would like to visit again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing