We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's the extra touches that count”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to South Ness House.
A traditional stone manse built in 1902
The Northlink ferry heads south for Aberdeen
The rear of South Ness House overlooks Bressay Sound (the entrance to Lerwick harbour)
Luxurious  bedroom with double aspect views of the sea
The breakfast room with sea views
The breakfast room is available for you to use all day
Looking north toward Lerwick harbour. 
A view from the garden
The Bressay ferry during the day.
The Bressay ferry at night
Sunset over the Ness of Sound, a 15 minute walk along the coastal path (the Sletts)
The Old Tool Booth in Lerwick
A view of historic Lerwick, the capital of Shetland.
The small boat harbour in Lerwick. A 10 minute walk from South Ness House
Lerwick harbour can cater for many types of vessels.
A part of Shetland's maritime heritage
Norwegian vessels moored in Lerwick harbour
The 'Statsraad Lehmkul' sets sail for Bergen in Norway
A view from the breakfast room. 
Cruise liners are regular summer visitors.
'In between weathers'
A Shetland expression relating to the ever changing climactic conditions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Pauline82...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's the extra touches that count”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Situated at the end of a cul-de-sac South Ness House was quiet, not even the floor boards creaked and for a house built in 1902, that's some achievement. Our room was spacious, with plenty of hanging and drawer space so we were able to fully unpack - no living out of a suitcase. . A wide selection of breakfast choices were provided, but it was the constant access to the dining room, with coffee and a varied selection of teas together with fruit and home made cakes which really made this accommodation stand out. Add in the friendly welcome from Colin and Pippa and you have the perfect holiday destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally-Ann...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Everything we hoped for and so much more!”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at South Ness House in Lerwick. To try and put into words how amazing this bed & breakfast is will be tricky! From the moment we arrived we new we had found something very special. The attention to detail given by Pippa and Colin is something we have ever experienced before. As soon as you walk through the door the feeling of luxury and hospitality is there in abundance. We were shown to the most perfect bedroom with spectacular views and every detail had been carefully thought about-from the beautiful decor and bed linen through to fresh flowers and candles. The breakfast the following morning was a treat all on its own. If you have ever wondered how royalty dine for breakfast-Pippa and Colin will show you how! Attention to detail again was amazing. Silverware on a beautifully laid table and a stunningly fresh breakfast made the perfect start to every day. The knowledge of the local areas that both Pippa and Colin have added to the perfect holiday of walking and exploring. Nothing is to much trouble-from flasks of tea whilst out walking to returning back to tea coffee and homemade cakes. Their hospitality and generosity has given us the most amazing holiday and we are already planning when to next return. I genuinely cannot recommend highly enough this stunning retreat in a beautiful part of the world

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruduva
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very warm and welcoming place, clean rooms great view and awesome breakfast. The couple Pipa and Collin were the sweetest hosts. We wanted to move in and never leave. Strongly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exquisite location and home to stay in”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Southness House is located at the far end of Twaegos Road and overlooks the Brei Wick and Bressay. It is a beautiful location and within easy walking distance of the centre of Lerwick. Lerwick is well positioned for exploring the rest of the largest of the three Shetland Isles.

We couldn't have been made more welcome by the hosts and their home is something to behold and we definitely plan to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scr855
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxurious in every detail, friendly and hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location with fabulous views. Very comfortable. Attention to every detail. Hosts were very welcoming and gave us some great suggestions for beautiful places to visit. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Lerwick.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allanhowa...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed for 4 days on a work visit at the end of July.
The location is central with a short walk to the city center.
I had a lovely sea view room.
The beds was extremely comfortable.
The place in spotless.
Great selection for Breakfast.
Really recommend this Guesthouse.
One small improvement, would be good to have tea/coffee in the room.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Dear Alan
Thank you for taking the time to review South Ness House.
We aim to provide a unique and personal service. Guests have 24 hour access to tea and coffee making facilities in the breakfast room. We want to avoid offering a 'Hotel experience' with long life milk and service trays in the bedroom.
We hope we can welcome you to South Ness House in the near future.
Kind regards
Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnh2014...
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accommodation in perfect location”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, solid, historic stone house located close to water edge at a point giving views up to Lerwick and out to open sea. The house has very high quality fittings (bathroom, windows, etc.) that match the style of the house. Very clean.
Exceptional breakfasts - top quality ingredients prepared perfectly. In fact, the quality of the breakfasts at least matched the quality at any of the top rated restaurants/cafes in Lerwick that we visited (Hay's Dock, Fjara). Pippa provided excellent travel guidance on things to see - beyond the usual sights (e.g. where to see otters). We really enjoyed Colin's art that decorates the house. Pippa and Colin are genuine and friendly.
We think that the house was well worth the price.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing