We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
14
8
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
8
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews previous ownership excellent location bus stop nice room guest house town centre caroline armadale mainland shetland hosts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Everything you'd want from a bed and breakfast. Nice room, comfortable bed, decent sized telly, brilliantly hot, powerful shower, lovely people, good breakfast, excellent location, excellent value for money. I could go on. Made me realise what an expensive mistake it had been to "treat" myself to a night in the L*r***k H***l - Solheim's miles better.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brist0lEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Caroline texted us to find out what time we would be arriving & allowed us to check in early as we had come on the 7am ferry & needed a shower . Gave us lots of info on what to do & where to go. There is a bus stop just across the street that takes you to Sumburgh (you can get the bus times from the tourist info or Caroline) it also connects to the bus to St Ninans Island but not every bus)
We were in room 4, a triple with bathroom. Shower is electric but hot. Rooms 2 & 3 share a bathroom but looked nice.. Ours had a big bay window which had a slight sea view, lovely & table and chair to sit at. WiFi worked well. It’s about a 10min walk to Tesco or 5mins to town. 20 mins from the ferry terminal. Breakfast was tasty & plentiful. Caroline & her family are very friendly, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is big & en-suite
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TinaHH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Not well known, but always welcoming, comfortable and completely accommodating. Hosts Caroline, Frank, Andrew all provide Shetland hospitality and the best English Breakfast in Shetland. Would live here always if I could.

Room Tip: Be specific about what you expect, and generally, you'll get it here.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 633seeker75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

very comfortable stay and made very welcome. convenient for Lerwick sights and sounds and a good start to a great cycle trip. room clean and tidy with good practical conveniences.the two of us had a great start to the trip. friendly staff and all round good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This is a good three star guest house, in fact it's two guest houses, Solheim and Carradale, operated as one. I stayed here three nights exploring all parts of mainland Shetland, Yell, Unst and Bressay. Lerwick is a good location to 'do' Shetland.

My room was a single room, but was quite comfortable. Breakfasts are excellent and the hostess welcoming. I was able to park my car outside (not always the case with other guest houses in this town), and the town centre is walkable. As with ALL guest houses in Shetland, expect some short contract oil and construction workers mixing in with the tourists. There was a seperate kitchen for these which contained a fridge which all guests were able to use.

Do ignore the older posts on this site giving poor reviews. They applied under a previous ownership and are no longer relevant.

Room Tip: All are good, there is no traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews