We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded all expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
SKARF Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SKARF Living Room
SKARF Living Room SKARF Ready To Dine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
SKARF Living Room
SKARF Living Room
SKARF Ready To Dine!
SKARF Bathroom from the Bath!
SKARF Ground Floor Bathroom - From the Shower!
SKARF Ground Floor Double Bedroom
SKARF First Floor Double Bedroom
SKARF First Floor Twin Room
SKARF is the house on the end. Photo looking North East
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
lewiswarl...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights with my girlfriend and had a wonderful time. It was honestly perfect in every way. Very reasonable price, spotlessly clean, warm and cosy and a very well equipped kitchen. Amazing views of the night sky and great walks nearby. Extra little touches like the complementary beer and biscuits and the walking rucksack were much appreciated. The hosts went beyond the call of duty at every stage; even picking us up from the Ferry terminal and posting my woolly hat back to me for free. I can't recommend them to friends and family fast enough. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Hi Lewis, Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us....and indeed that you are reunited with your 'Toorie Kep' (Shetland for Wooly hat ;-) ).
Hopefully we shall see you again,
Gillian & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judith64c...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we needed in a comfortable home from home”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We traveled with another couple, and found the 3 bedroom house with 2 bathrooms perfect for us to share. Everything worked, plentiful hot water, extra comfy beds, decor of a high standard, storage space and well insulated for sound.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you Judith, we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking time to give us a review. Hopefully we shall see you all again sometime - Gillian & Steve :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at the Deccan.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Once again we had a great holiday in Shetland. This is the 3rd time we have Stayed at the Decca.As always the place was spotless with all you could need for your stay. Steve and Gillian are always great for advice and knowledge. The apartments have a great selection of information about what is happening in Shetland. From events to resturants. Ferry timetables. Everything and more. The apartments are about a 10 minute drive from town center. A great location with nice views. We have stayed in a couple of the appartments and both were great.Will be staying there again. Very comfortable.
David & Margaret
Glasgow

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you David and Margaret, it was lovely to have you back to stay with us again - though I never managed to catch up with you both! Steve did! We look forward to having you to stay again in the future,
Gillian & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdtait
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, spacious apartment all as new.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Can't recommend highly enough. Just like new. Everything you need including washer and dryer. Very spacious too. Slightly out if town but if you are having a drink with your meal it is easy and cheap to call a taxi. Would stay here again, for sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you Steven, we are glad that Skarf suited your needs so well. We hope you and your family enjoyed your trip back to the homeland.
Maybe see you all again, Gillian & Steve :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnyfica...
London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering accomodation”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I stayed here as part of a group visiting during Up Helly Aa. I shared the 3 bed apartment called Skarf. It was clean, welcoming and had little extras that really made the stay including some local beer to try out. It is a good 25 minute walk into town if you do not have a car. I liked the fact that it was outside town therefore quiet apart from the local sheep. Of note, you are opposite the local Lerwick Brewery, who provide tours on request and have lovely beer brewed on site.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Hi Laura, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you all enjoyed Up Helly Aa. Certainly the walk into the heart of Lerwick in January is more of a 'thought', but then it is far enough out to be able to hear the wild birds too! Can't say I've noticed the sheep so much :-)
And ofcourse Ranna in the new brewery is always delighted to see our visitors and show them around.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Can't fault any thing about The Decca. Have stayed twice in the last 2 months in different apartments. We found both to be of extremely high quality fixtures and fittings, extreamly well stocked, very clean and tidy, everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable. Great location being on the outskirts of the town. Found the owners to be very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them in regard to meeting us on arrival and departure, and leaving contact number if we had any problems during our stay. Would highly recommend the Decca to anyone visiting Shetland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equine and clean and tidy the accommodation was
Liked least: Can't say there was anything to fault
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you Elizabeth, its been our pleasure to have you as our guests.
Taak Care :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JATWellin...
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed a week and the place so very well equipped and everything was in great condition and the apartment was warm and pleasant to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and fully equipped
Liked least: Neighbours slamming doors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind reveiw, we are glad you enjoyed your week with us - Steve & Gillian :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing