We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful - everything clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Harald Apartments

King Harald Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King Harald Apartments
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful - everything clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed 5 days in late August.

We flew into Sumburgh from Edinburgh after travelling up by car from Liverpool. I then picked up a hire car from Bolts Car Rental (nice clean car) and then travelled the 30 miles (approx) to Lerwick.

The owner (Jean) met us at the apartments at an agreed time. She showed us around the apartment and explained to us how everything worked, including the free wireless broadband.
The view from the Kitchen is very nice over to a bay, but don't be put off by a single story messy looking workshop at the back of the property. The guys who work there are friendly and they go home around 6pm....

Lerwick and the Shetland Islands are a true delight. The weather shone for us which is very helpful when you have 10 year old twin girls to entertain. If you have kids then take them to the Clikinmin leisure centre (10 mins walk from the apartment) as the Swimming Pool is brilliant, 2 x slides, plus diving/jumping boards!

We really enjoyed the holiday. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Stay for at least a week - longer if possible. Get a hire car and enjoy the whole Island(s). Got to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

These apartments are a brilliant place to stay. The rooms are spacious and fairly well equipped (although a DVD player would be a good addition as the apartments currently lack these).
I stayed in the ground floor apartment as I was travelling with my husband and 7 month old son so thought this would be better for us, however I have stayed in the first floor apartment previously and that us quite good as well (only missing a dish washer compared to the ground floor).
The apartments are located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Lerwick although please be warned the area is quite hilly. There is also a swimming pool & leisure centre near by which is worth a visit. Be aware if travelling by car that the apartments are on a one way street but the streets are easy to navigate.
Overall this is an excellent base to explore and we hope to stay here again on our next visit (we have relatives on the island).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Back to Shetland for the first time in 22 years with my wife who had never been before. Based in Lerwick as it's central for exploring the islands.
Stayed in the top flat for 8 nights and it suited us just fine.
To watch the gannets diving for fish as you wash the dishes is just fantastic.
See the website for details of the facilities.
It's a very warm flat so the windows spent a lot of time open but just about everything else was perfect. Perhaps a radio to listen to Shetland Radio would be an advantage but that's a small point.
Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Lets hope its before another 22 years

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank colmac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed in the lower apartment for a couple of days, visiting family! Perfect location, great layout, very comfortable and clean! Will definetely be visiting again.

L Walker

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWalker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

My wife and myself, our youngest son and his daughter (18 months) all stayed in the lower apartment whilst in Shetland for our oldest sons wedding in Brae. The apartment is spacious so you are not in each other’s way whilst moving about. The location is excellent, only a short walk from the centre of Lerwick. Excellent value for money as there is no additional charge for electricity. My son's only dislike was that it did not have SKY. The owners were very charming and always available on the end of the phone to provide any assistance or answer any questions. My wife's sister, her husband and brother stayed in the upper flat and they were of the same opinion as us. The only down side is that the upper flat has wooden floors and although it has many rugs it really depends on the guests as to how quiet they will be. The owners do have a notice in the upper flat asking guests to remover their footwear to reduce the potential noise. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMcM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

We had the upstairs apartment for a few days in May and were very impressed with the space, equipment, comfort and cleanliness of the flat. Very handy for a short walk into Lerwick town centre for meals, plenty of off street parking space and free wi-fi! So much better than staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scot_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

I stayed here in April for several days whilst waiting to move into my house and it was great. Had lower apartment to myself, warm, fully equipped kitchen, great modern bathroom and friendly owner. Ideal for Lerwick, close to Library and can walk into town easily. Plenty of room and a quiet road. ideal base for exploring island.

Helpful?
1 Thank shetlandmylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jordari, owner at King Harald Apartments, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Many thanks for your kind comments. It was a pleasure meeting you and I hope all goes well with your new house. Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.3 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Self Catering Shetland
Self Catering Shetland
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Harald Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Harald Apartments

Property: King Harald Apartments
Address: 11A King Harald Street, Lerwick ZE1 0DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lerwick
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
King Harald Apartments Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing