We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home with a touch of Shetland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Excellent stay, found this place by luck. This acommodation is a must if you visit Shetland. It is far enough away from the town, yet close enough to enjoy.
Eggs for breakfast are eggceptional. I am planning another visit, however not sharing with you when as need to make sure I get booked

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

This was our first visit to Shetland but we shall return and definetly use this Cottage again.
Julie & Gordon made us very welcome (with fresh eggs, juice bread & oatcakes),and then left us to it.
The cottage is beatiful with great views to the front and rear looking out to the beach on one side and the bay on the other (see photos), but only 5 mins drive outside Lerwick.
There is a Tesco at the end of the road and it is the first time we have passed seals on the shore on the way to the shops !
There is good coastel walks on the doorstep and easy access to good roads all over Shetland.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Wow, a wonderful hotel in a stunning location, just outside Lerwick centre! Breathtaking sea views with seals sunbathing on the rocks outside, peaceful and tranquil surroundings. Julie and Gordan were extremely welcoming, as were their chickens with their free range eggs. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms spotless, full of character and have been beautifully restored to a very high standard. You must stay here for a Superb Shetlands Experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

On booking I was quoted £55, on the morning of travel I received an e-mail advising that the single room was no longer available but that I could have a double for £65. Interesting that there was actually only one other guest.
The room was not clean, there were black hairs in the shower, bathroom, bed and on the floor. The mattress was uncomfortable, clearly showing signs of wear. The walls in the room were damp and the window could not be opened.
After an uncomfortable night breakfast was poor, despite pre-ordering a very simple breakfast of brown toast, beans & orange juice. There were no beans.
The atmosphere in the breakfast area was poor and uninviting.
Afraid I could not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestHallLerwick, Manager at West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

You stayed in May 2012 and you reviewed Westhall almost a year later in February 2013. You will note from our current reviews that the management changed in mid May 2012. It is very different now and you are welcome to come and find out..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

To round off our stay in Shetland this past week we spent a night in Westhall. We used to own this B&B and cottage but sold it at the end of September 2010 to return to Scotland to be nearer to our family down south. We were delighted to see the house and garden in very good order and were given a very warm welcome from Gordon & Julie. We spent the night in the Sands of Sound room waking up to the fantastic views south to Mousa and west to the Sands of Sound beach. The bed was just as we remembered it, comfortable with luxurious bedding.
Breakfast on Friday morning was lovely with fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals. We both had smoked haddock with their own fresh eggs and loads of toast.
We wish Gordon and Julie all the best in their business and hope that they enjoy staying in Westhall as much as we did.

Room Tip: Sands of Sound bathroom has a bath and super size bed. Brewick room has a great view out towards Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksimpson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My wife and I are just back from Up Helly Aa .. And we were lucky enough to have booked to stay here ... Very quiet and totally relaxed .. The Sounds of The Sands room has wonderful views .. And I'm so pleased we stayed out of the town .. Since its less than £5 in a taxi anyway ... Definitely recommended !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Wow what a place,stunning building inside and out.The rooms are bright and cheery and very comfortable with everything you need wifi tea/coffee etc everything has been done to a very high standard.
The breakfast with the fresh eggs from their own hens was a real treat.
The hosts Julie and Gordon could not have been more helpfull and attentive. Hotels could learn a lot from a place like this.
CANT WAIT TO GO BACK AGAIN

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views and sorry no pool or gym I got carried away ticking the above boxs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lerwick hotels
1.1 mi away
Aald Harbour B&B
Aald Harbour B&B
#4 of 12 in Lerwick
29 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Decca - Self Catering Shetland
1 mi away
Eddlewood Guest House
Eddlewood Guest House
#6 of 12 in Lerwick
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering

Address: Lower Sound, Lerwick ZE1 0RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lerwick
Price Range: £133 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed, breakfast and evening meals provided. Shetland hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hall B&B And Cottage Self Catering Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing