We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Hall, best of all!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“West Hall, best of all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Not much to add to the already glowing reports of this lovely B&B, except to say that we wish Julie and Gordon could have accommodated us for our entire holiday as it was an exceptional place to stay!

Lovely people, great hosts, delicious breakfasts, superb room (Sands of Sound) with wonderful views and a picturesque location.

Go there if you can!

Room Tip: We imagine all of the rooms are lovely! We stayed in Sands of Sound which was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doomey1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
43
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is one of the loveliest B & B's I've stayed in anywhere. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and quiet. Julie was such a wonderful proprietress! Superb breakfasts (with unbelievable eggs from their chickens) and we booked the dinner one evening (we hadn't known it was possible) -- which was lovely, too. My room had windows on three sides -- with a view of the water from all of them. This place is a bit out of town, so probably better if you have a vehicle. I loved waking up to the sound of the sheep & lambs and chickens. Superb place.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms on the first floor (second floor to Americans) facing the front are lovely. The o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeBonVoyage58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have just returned to West Hall for my eighth trip almost all when I have been on business.
The rooms are all very well appointed and have very comfy beds.
Your hosts Julie and Gordon are the most friendly welcoming couple I have ever came across, they gave me invaluable advice on places to eat and places to visit.
The views from the rooms across both bays (sits on a peninsula) are to die for, beautiful white sand beaches.
The food is fantastic, local Shetland fish and eggs from their own chickens that give you a friendly wake up call each morning.
I travel a lot with business and I have very high standards, West Hall meets them all, already looking to book my return trip

Room Tip: If you are staying as a group or two couples then request the cottage as you get your own stunning k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

One night here with a colleague for business
Few rooms available on the islands at the minute but so glad my secretary found this one
Warmest of Shetland welcomes beautiful location overlooking the south bay Lerwick sound and Bressay island,fantastic rooms cosy but large lounge and a proper breakfast around a table with the other guests.
The landladies local accent is a delight combined with a great sense of humour (my mate had a real job understanding her it was hilarious) it feels like you are a guest in someone's fine house
I loved Shetland and plan to return with the missus for a proper stay as long as we can stay here
One tip the Tom Tom takes you to the wrong house West Hall is behind this one accessed from a little road down by the shore

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely bit one has a view from 3 windows at different directions I am told
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

If I ever get the chance to return to Mainland or Lerwick, this is where I want to stay again. Beautiful place, the most friendly couple you can ask for, and all luxury for a more than reasonable place.
My colleague and I went up to for two very hectic working days. Julie, who runs the place with her husband was a very polite and friendly lady who not only welcomed us warmly, but also cooked us a lovely salmond-dinner upon request when we got back quite late on the evening.She made desert with rhubarb from their own garden. The bed was like a dream, and the rooms were spacious, clean and with a lovely view. For breakfast we were served scrambled eggs, made from eggs from their own hens.
All this for only £79 (plus £20 for the two course meal we ordered extra) per person. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I have to say that this place is outstanding, I have just returned from my second visit to Lerwick in 6 months for business and on both occasions stopped at West Hall B&B. The place is perfect in every way, fantastic hosts, beautiful accommodation with an outstanding relaxed atmosphere, not to mention the food. I have and will continue to recommend to anyone travelling to Lerwick and personally won't be staying anywhere else when I visit again. Thank you and keep up the fantastic work.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GreggR847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We are a group of four senior gentlemen from Sweden, working our way through the isles of the Atlantic, so we have had stays of all kinds. Our stay at the West Hall is one of the very best. The impression is of a manor house and you as a valued guest. The rooms are large, well equipped and comfortable, with fantastic views on the hills, sea and sheep grazing grounds which surround this fine classical building. The breakfasts were fresh with lots of fresh fruits and other products. The pleasant and helpful couple who run the place also prepared one our best Scottish fresh fish meals for us. It is only walking distance to a nearby food shopping mall, a slightly longer walk to Lerwick center; we took our car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henning E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
1.4 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering

Property: West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering
Address: Lower Sound, Lerwick ZE1 0RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed, breakfast and evening meals provided. Shetland hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hall B&B And Cottage Self Catering Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing