We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, lovely room and delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, lovely room and delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Julie and her husband made us very welcome with nice little personalised touches. They have done a great job since acquiring the business a couple of years ago. We loved the fresh flowers all around the B&B and the way they put up national flags for their visitors. This is a great location for visiting Lerwick, or as a base for exploring other parts of Shetland. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
43
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

West Hall Guest House is a lovely large old property situated in a quiet location which also provides excellent views. Internally the house is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, exceeding that found in most quality hotels. Guests also have access to a beautifully furnished lounge area. Our bedroom was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. with good quality bed linen, duvet and mattress.

The proprietor is accommodating and friendly and an excellent breakfast is served in a spacious dining room.

WiFi is provided free of charge.

I can recommend West Hall without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrywallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here just one night to be able to explore Lerwick at night. The B&B is a good walk from the town centre. The location is very nice: great views, quiet at night. The breakfast was really good: fresh fruit, smoked haddock, etc. The room was big and nicely decorated and had free wi-fi. The shower is really nice and big and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixvdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

If you have access to a car or enjoy walking, this is SO good.
That's really the only downside I can think of - the fact that it is situated in the outskirts of Lerwick.
Beautiful room in a manor house, very nice bathroom, superb rural views from all windows and a really good bed. Good breakfast and also very convenient to be able to get a homecooked dinner.
Very, very nice and cheerful hosts.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunnel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Tunisia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Before I set foot in Shetland, I suspected that I was going to enjoy my stay at West Hall. Julie was not only prompt and informative during our email exchange hammering out the details of my visit, she was helpful in offering back up plans for other housing that fell through at the last minute. She clearly loved her job, and I hadn't even met her yet.

But my expectations were more than exceeded when I arrived. Not only was Julie just as warm and hospitable as I had anticipated, making me feel right at home, West End itself was beautiful - and my room had a gorgeous view out to the water and hills. It is close to Lerwick, but removed enough to feel like you are very much away it all. The food too was excellent, both breakfast and dinner (I strongly encourage guests to try at least one evening meal here). West End is a superb bed and breakfast, and Julie is a superb host - I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved staying at West Hall. Julie is an amazing host. It is so rare to meet someone who loves what they do but Julie really does. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with such kindness. We can't wait to come back. The bedrooms are beautiful with glorious views and the breakfast is superb.

Room Tip: All the rooms are glorious.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaBaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

it's just superb in every way. Julie & Gordon are such genuinely nice people, and West Hall is a lovely place to be. Rooms are very nicely done, everything's been thought of. Breakfasts are really whatever you want, with freshly laid eggs from their own chickens. A perfect place from which to explore Shetland. Free WiFi everywhere. Can not be highly enough recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
1.4 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering

Property: West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering
Address: Lower Sound, Lerwick ZE1 0RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed, breakfast and evening meals provided. Shetland hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Hall B&B and Cottage Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hall B&B And Cottage Self Catering Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing