We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great meal”

Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Scottish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the Shetland Museum and Archives, Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant offers stunning views over Lerwick harbour and the best local produce, simply cooked and beautifully presented.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have eaten at Hay's Dock many times over the years and have always found the food to be of high quality and the service friendly and efficient.

Our latest dinner was really good. I had the scallops with risotto, followed by monkfish wrapped in parma ham with black pudding and pig cheek. The unusual combination of the main course worked very well. For dessert we shared a chocolate brownie which we found to be a bit on the soft side.

Others at the table enjoyed the luxury seafood chowder and the chicken breast - both cooked to perfection.

The portions were generous and even the children's menu was of a high standard.

We will certainly return next time we are in Shetland.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlddogHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    148
    46
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cuisine, friendly staff, good view”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The two of us chose to celebrate our engagement here whilst in the Shetlands. The chicken dish I had and the vegetarian crumble were fantastic. The puddings were also delicious. Of the restaurants we visited in Lerwick, this is a must for an all round dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“last lunch in Lerwick”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

our last lunch in Lerwick before heading for Orkney, as always, lovely food, great service, great views of the harbour, a nice way to finish a trip to Shetland

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having enjoyed a dinner out here some time ago, I was looking forward to lunch here. The menu is limited but has a few good options, and the wine list is great. I went for a lamb and feta burger and, although tasty, the portion size was quite small and the whole thing rather overpriced. This restaurant has a lovely setting and good atmosphere but you definitely pay over the odds for what you get. Perhaps I should have gone for the seafood chowder as it did smell delicious...!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and views---good food---not so great service!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I really do like this place and in all fairness ----the food is good. But, I must say the service is lacking here and I don't think it's great value for money. I'm just back from my vacation and stopped in Hay's twice during my trip. Once for late afternoon tea after visiting the museum and another time for lunch with my mother-in-law. Both times there were issues with the service----first time it took over 20 mins for staff to take our order and the 2nd time I was advised that reservations are recommended as they don't normally have tables for walk-ins during peak lunch hours. Really---you are a museum cafe that is highly dependent on tourist (off the cruise ships) coming through and you want me to make a reservation? Not a good policy for the average day tourist but maybe good for the locals? Our food was tasty but not cheap. But, the venue with views of Lerwick Harbor maybe well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wordlytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing