We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Scottish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the Shetland Museum and Archives, Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant offers stunning views over Lerwick harbour and the best local produce, simply cooked and beautifully presented.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had an excellent meal here tonight with wonderful service, made to feel very welcome despite not booking. Had the scallops starter and monkfish for main highly recommended. We will look forward to going again on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jswan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    145
    45
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant environment, mixed quality of service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Twice visited during our stay in Shetland. On the first occasion we had an excellent lunch with the Seafood Chowder particularly noteworthy. We ate on the balcony and enjoyed the beautiful weather and the views and the excellent service.

On the second occasion we had afternoon coffee served by a young waitress who we considered was desperately in need of some customer relations training and staff development. This experience made us decide not to go back for dinner another evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terrywallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have eaten at Hay's Dock many times over the years and have always found the food to be of high quality and the service friendly and efficient.

Our latest dinner was really good. I had the scallops with risotto, followed by monkfish wrapped in parma ham with black pudding and pig cheek. The unusual combination of the main course worked very well. For dessert we shared a chocolate brownie which we found to be a bit on the soft side.

Others at the table enjoyed the luxury seafood chowder and the chicken breast - both cooked to perfection.

The portions were generous and even the children's menu was of a high standard.

We will certainly return next time we are in Shetland.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlddogHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cuisine, friendly staff, good view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The two of us chose to celebrate our engagement here whilst in the Shetlands. The chicken dish I had and the vegetarian crumble were fantastic. The puddings were also delicious. Of the restaurants we visited in Lerwick, this is a must for an all round dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“last lunch in Lerwick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

our last lunch in Lerwick before heading for Orkney, as always, lovely food, great service, great views of the harbour, a nice way to finish a trip to Shetland

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing