We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Brentham House

Brentham House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brentham House
Ranked #10 of 12 Lerwick B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the suite which was brilliant! Well stocked fridge awaited us in the kitchen of this lovely large and airy apartment. With separate lounge/diner and the bedroom was spacious with king size beds, you felt very spoiled! Great location and you can see the harbour from the windows. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shetlandwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay in the suite for 2 nights. Great location near to 'the street" but far enough away to miss the noise. (Although we were aware of "the beat" from the night club which is situated below on one night.) Old features in this lovely quirky old building but modern too with a superb fitted kitchen and huge comfy beds (2 king size). Everything you could need! We loved it and look forward to our next visit!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I would agree with all the previous positive reviews about the rooms at Brentham House but it is not a hotel but an excellent quality room with a breakfast snack in the fridge. Although an quality room with views over the harbour I felt that it was an apartment and, without any staff on the premises, lacked any personal service. Brentham House has 3 bedrooms & 1 suite. The bedrooms are on the 3rd floor and would be a problem for anyone with a physical disability as the stairs a quite steep. Would I stay here again - yes I would.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cagey_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here for Up Helly Aa & were thoroughly impressed with the property. We stayed in room 3, which was well sized, including the biggest bathroom you've ever seen! Much better accommodation than some hotels I've stayed in. The fridge was stocked with cereal, milk, cereal bars, orange juice & oatcakes! The housekeeper was a lovely woman & stocked up the fridge for 2 days as she knew we would be sleeping in the day after Up Helly Aa. Only complaint is that it was slightly too warm at night but would definitely stay here again if back in Shetland!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glowworm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived as planned, no hiccups with getting the Key and I have to say it was the lap of luxury in the apartment. Parking is outside on the Road so very easy to get your luggage in, and its ideally located for Ferry over the Bressay, to shop in the Town of Lerwick, and the views are lovely. Would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the Centre of Lerwick. Just wish there was a cafe for a full breakfast nearby, but the continental breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Brentham house is slightly unusual in that it is a like a holiday apartment rental that doesn't require a whole week to be rented, which is good.

Keys are collected by the restaurant on the corner of the road, the lady at the bar who passed me the key over was really friendly and helpful. There is parking right across the road from the building. There are one or two flights of stairs to climb, depending on your room location, nice wide stairs, so no problems.

The rooms was very well finished, with many of the comforts one would expect. Also I was impressed by the breakfast and snacks in the mini fridge. I had cheese, biscuits, yoghurt, cereal bar, choice of four cereals, milk, water and orange. I certainly couldn't fault the selection.

The free wifi was good, and I had no complains about the housekeeping, I even had a good chat with the lady on my way out. The fridge contents were replaced and room tidied, I only stayed two nights.

It was a short walk into Lerwick, 5-10 mins maximum at a slow walk.

I'd certainly stop here again, it was a little on on the expensive side, but I didn't have much choice in terms of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matt_from_nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed for 5 nights at the Brentham house. I booked the Bressay suite and may i say the apartment was fabulous. It has a large fully fitted kitchen with all the utensils that you could possibly need. The lounge/diner has a nice comfy leather 3 piece suite, large flat screen TV and a four seater dining table. The bedroom is fitted with 2 comfortable double beds and a bathroom with a power shower (no bath)

It is right on the edge of the main shopping high street and round the corner from the bus station (bus costs £3 from the airport) and opposite the Bressay ferry port which you overlook from the apartment.

The only comments i will make about the property is that all accommodation is only accessible via the stairs, so maybe not suitable for people with mobility problems. Also there is only one bedroom in the bressay suite with the 2 double beds and it looks like a partition wall may have been removed at some point, because its huge, about 25 to 30 foot long.

I certainly recommend this place and thank you to all the people involved for creating such a nice place to stay, a lot of organisations can certainly take note

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ald Norlande
#11 of 12 in Lerwick
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Knysna House
#5 of 6 in Lerwick
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentham House

Property: Brentham House
Address: 7 Harbour Street, Lerwick ZE1 0LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lerwick
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brentham House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing