We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
72
62
25
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
62
25
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed nice hotel bar supper excellent dinner modern bathroom reasonable variety private home traditional hotel town centre short break narrow streets star hotel hundred yards tourist info an evening meal lounge area onion rings
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed there for six days as part of an organised tour (group of 24). I was impressed by the lobby/bar/meeting rooms on the ground floor. The blue room would be a perfect setting for an Agatha Christie novel! The guest room itself and bathroom have obviously been recently renovated and are very nice. It's too bad the flat screen TV lost its signal regularly. I only have two complaints: the internet and the food. There was internet available if you brought your own computer, but none available for customers. I have been to Vietnam and South Africa and all three stars hotels had computers available for guests, and often for free. Here, I had to go the municipal library - a 10 min walk - open 9 to 5 - not useful when you are on tour. Then the food: do not offer risotto if you don't know what it is... The mixture that was served had no visible rice in it. The only explanation is that whoever was in the kitchen used Minute Rice and cooked it for 20 minutes, then added a four ounces of a very strong local cheese. Eggs "over easy" might as well have been boiled.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Good location - quiet, but only 5 minutes walk to the harbour

Rooms - everything you would expect, including a comfortable bed, but don't expect luxury or inspired decor. One gripe - the walls appear to be paper thin between the rooms so if you have noisy neighbours you may not enjoy your stay!

Staff - pleasant and keen to please, but clearly lacking experience and, in some cases, understanding of English - can lead to confusion. This is a criticism of the management, not the individual staff members who were trying their best.

Food - breakfast and dinner were both very good.

Not cheap, but I suspect that may be the norm for the area.

Overall, pleasant stay and enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan16Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

A perfectly serviceable place to stay, and in a quiet location although only about five minutes walk down the hill to the harbour. My room was adequately furnished, with a welcome number of decent lights but few luxuries. Some staff are keen to help; but others are inexperienced and lack basic knowledge and enthusiasm, which can be frustrating.

The hotel is not easy to find. It's worth studying the maps on their own website and spending a little time with Google Street View.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Upon arrival staff were helpful and polite. Room (413) was a nice size with a great seaview. Room was quite warm so windows had to be left open at night. This was ok till 6 in the morning when the local seagulls started up. Its quite hard to find both by car and on foot though once familiar there is a short cut down a steep lane in to town. Breakfast was very good with options for kippers or smoked haddock as well. A bit pricey for a standard hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parishunter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2006

I only had one nights stay at this hotel while on a business trip.
I have stayed at several other hotels on Shetland and wanted to give myself a treat by staying in one of the islands 4 star establishments.
Unfortunately I was a little disappointed.
The decor in the room was a little tired; the en-suite was dated and the shower had a poor flow.
I did have a good nights sleep though.
I ate in the hotels bar restaurant. There was a good selection of food and the portions were substantual.
There was also a fair choice for breakfast.
I would rate the food 3.5/5 for taste.
However, I felt that at £89 for a single person the hotel was over-rated.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Experience617811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews