We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, cosy and comfortable small hotel”
Review of Kveldsro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kveldsro House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Although we arrived in Lerwick at lunch time on the third last day of May the weather was cold, as expected!, so we were delighted to find that our hotel was comfortably warm throughout and continued to be so during our stay of four nights.

Our twin-bedded room was bright and airy, and provided ample storage space for clothes. The wardrobe had really user-friendly hangers with which we had no need to struggle, as is often the case with fixed hangers. We particularly appreciated the generous supply of tea, coffee. hot chocolate, milk and shortbread, replenished daily, and the provision of a teapot as well as a kettle.

The bathroom, while compact, had clearly been upgraded recently to provide the most up-to-date fittings and furnishings, including a fantastic twin-headed shower with one head being of dinner plate size. Lovely thick hand towels and bath towels were changed daily, there was a constant supply of piping hot water, with efficient temperature control for individual tastes, and all the usual toiletries were provided.

Breakfast was of the help-yourself-from-the-buffet type for juices, fruits, cereals and some particularly delicious yoghurts, while freshly cooked-to-order hot dishes were served at table. The full Scottish breakfast comprising numerous items was especially appetising, but there were also some very tempting fish dishes of Scottish kippers and Scottish haddock.

Staff in this small hotel deserve special mention for being so friendly, attentive and helpful and housekeeping staff can be proud of the excellent job they do in keeping all parts of the hotel clean and fresh.

The only negative relates to the pillows which we found to be unyielding and uncomfortable and sadly, of the type found too often in hotels that offer no pillow menu.

But I must not end on a sour note because this is a very good small hotel that offers fair value for money and is staffed by nice friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

We book this hotel based on past Tripadvisor reports. We spent 6 days at this hotel. The hotel staff were warm and friendly. During our stay in a double room, we were not happy about the following points:

There was no hot water for our shower during our first day
There was no hot water for our basin for two days
The towels were of poor quality and threadbare
The room was hot, even with the windows open
Only one bedside table in a double room
The room wasn't dusted every day
The bed sheets were too big and came off
The stairs to the room were dangerous (and we are disabled)
The room needed a good lick of paint. Bare wood across the windows
Only enough tea making for one cup of tea

As we were charged £130 a night for this room, we feel that we have been short changed.

Not impressed at all. Choose a B&B if you can!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nairn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertaberdeen, director at Kveldsro House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

There are 3 shift superviors at the kveldrso and I have spoken to each of them in connection with these guests.We were happy to provide porterage on their arrival with their 8 bags.
There was a problem reported by them of the hot water in their sink; we arranged the plumber for the following morning; and it was fixed at 9.00am when the plumber could access the room.
The rooms are spotless; the house team do their best when a room is a stay for cleaning etc, but do have to be careful not to move or shift personal belongings and baggage which can sometimes be spread all over the room; the towels are white egyptian cotton and are not threadbare.
The stairs are typical of an older property ie the country house hotel in town.
We did have the hottest day recorded in may in Lerwick, so it was particularly warm fo 2 days or so; not however a common complaint here, and more of a celebration by everyone else!
Sometimes a guest gets a bee in their bonnet about one relativley small thing, and then they take against you which seems to be the case here. None of these points, other than of course the water problem specific to that room, were brought to the shift supervisors attention.
We again provided full porterage on departure, but the guest observed that a small item was missing from her room; which of course proved to be not th case as it was lurking in the bottom of one of the 8 cases........
So we are sorry these guests didnt feel that their stay was as they wished it; we provided, as usual, personal personable service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My mother and I stayed here for one night where we received a warm welcome. Friendly and professional staff. Lovely rooms. My only niggle would be the lack of a lift when cases have to be man handled up stairs.
Having said that I would certainly return to experience the lovely choice of menu for dinner and breakfast.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Littlebrownjug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

weekend stay for work. Food excellent, location excellent. staff very attentive and helpful. Well placed in lerwick for visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrDaveScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good location, 2 minutes walk to the centre of Lerwick and the harbour area. New bathrooms,great,just let the water run and run before it gets hot. Food is OK hotel stylie. Good fish and pudds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking thr Sound of Bressay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iTALOPHILEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Styaed here for just one night on a brief visit to the Shetland Islands last month.
There doesn't seem to be a great deal of choice of hotel accomodation in Lerwick and I think most of the hotels that there are are in fact owned by the same company...

But having said that we found this hotel perfectly satisfactory, if not a little pricey (and no discounts are to be found anywhere - too small to appear on any of the booking engines I suspect)
The room was of a good size and special mention should be made of the bathroom which looked as if it had been recently upgraded.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly, and they'd even remembered it was my birthday (which I'd told them when booking) which was a nice touch.

The breakfast wasn't the hotel's strongest strength, but then I don't think Shetland is noted for it's cuisine!

The location is also excellent being only a 5 minute walk from the heart of the town. (Ask reception to point you in the right direction as there is a little shortcut out of the car park)

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Been here a few times for meals, normally we have been very happy however on our last visit was terrible.
fish and chips .............with no veg or salad ????
Sausage and chips for the kiddies....Sausage was obviously left over from breakfast and zapped in the microwave, poor lass couldnt bite through it! !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peerieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
25.5 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kveldsro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kveldsro House

Address: 20 Greenfield Place, Lerwick ZE1 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range: £142 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kveldsro House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country house Hotel in town; centrally situated but in a quiet cul-de-sac; full service hotel with lounge and dining facilities; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kveldsro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kveldsro House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing