We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Kveldsro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kveldsro House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Finding this gem can be fun. It can be more fun if it is the first time driving in Britain. A left out of the Northlink Ferry terminal and try to keep near the water. Commercial turns into Esplanade and when it starts up hill the first round about make a left. Here it gets tricky. Stay on the road that goes to the right but not too right. (This is a very old, unplanned town) Got that? Drive dead slow. This is a single track and you might miss the sign to the hotel. The road narrows even more. Drive slower. A good idea is to Google map it before leaving home and use street view to explore the tiny lanes leading to the hotel.

The staffs is friendly and ready to help. You are shown to your room and it is explained to you. No tossing your key at you and have fun with your bags. Someone will help you to your room. The building was originally a typical private home of some means. The add on at first seems wrong. I was hoping for a room in the original house. I am pleased I stayed in the add on.

Room 412 is a pleasant, bright room with two twin beds. The view over the water was pleasing with a pretty garden beyond the hotel's private car park. The bath is beautifully done with the most modern fixtures. The design was so well thought out it rivals large chain hotels (please come do my bath). If you are traveling with a friend or solo, ask for it.

There is a fine restaurant and a nice bar if you need to refresh yourself. I enjoyed a quiet nightcap after a long day. And bless me! They got the wifi right! It is free and easy to sign in to. Even my temperamental Kindle Fire signed in smoothly. Unlike a lot of other more pretentious hotels, the signal is in your room and strong.

The staff will direct you to the city center the easy way (walking) down some local closes. I needed a post office and they got me there with little trouble. Just ask and they will help.

Will I come back? Oh yeah. This is my place to stay in Shetland.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwiksilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    52
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
39
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed one night but would have checked out if had had a second booked. Be careful which room you get. We looked out to back and it sounded as though we had a tumble dryer going all night. Had mentioned it at check in but was told it would stop when the kitchen closed. that was not the case. Fully booked so no chance of relocating we were told. Complained again later that evening and told they would sort it . Never happened so not a good nights sleep if at all for me. Bar supper was nice enough, breakfast was fine. Location is good, only a short walk to harbour. Plus point was that in the morning they at least took the cost of our bar tab off the bill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puffingirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is slightly off the downtown area, but within easy walking distance. The staff were very nice, the restaurant and meal service were quite fine. The rooms were small but comfortable, clean and well appointed. We are pleased that we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirkbyHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were pre booked for this hotel but the appearances proved a sham. Courteous international staff: Polish, French, Colombian and I imagine not a local chef in the kitchen. Undercooked vegetables ie.leeks as crunchy as celery, ling (a pre salted fish) arriving at the table as grilled fibreboard. The slow cooked beef as described but stretch the slow and add dry and you have an idea of its consistency. All appeared decorative but I prefer taste and flavour after a day of fresh air. The rooms were well appointed but the sanitary ware and plumbing was too clever by half, suit the WAGS I expect. And one other note was the print on the hall wall...a Thames barge, which probably expresses best the eye for detail at this establishment. Receptionist/ bar/ and other jobs juggled by one having only been here for two months. With no discernible management I would expect a rapid staff turnover.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DESMITHDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertaberdeen, director at Kveldsro House, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
There are times when it is clear from the outset there is no pleasing some people; we installed new bathrooms in all the bedrooms some 18 months ago, and have nothing but praise for the decor, power showers, cleanliness, and so on. There is a shift supervisor on duty from 7.30 am to 11.30 pm daily, the fact that this reviewer couldnt figure that out in what is a small 17 bedroomed hotel says it all; and of the 3 full time staff it takes to cover that, all 3 have been with us a while; one of them for 2 months, but this is his second time with us, the first time for over a year; and the other two having been for 12/18 months at least; an very pleasant helpul supervisors they are too, providing an attentive helpful approach at all times.
Whilst I cannot comment on the reviewers food, in general terms our chefs ( heaf chef of 4 years standing) tak great pride in providing residents and diners with th quality expected of a 4 star hotel.
We could see from the off that we couldnt win with this reviewer, and during their stay they made it plain that they would review and would attempt to stick it to us; well, such is the way of some people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Though I did not stay at this hotel, I enjoyed a delicious dinner with several friends. The atmosphere was cozy and friendly, and the food choices were very nice. Everyone in our party enjoyed their choices, though the service was a bit slow. They also had difficulty with their credit card machine, which resulted in additional time.

The hotel is a bit out of the way - you need to know it is there to find it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Although we arrived in Lerwick at lunch time on the third last day of May the weather was cold, as expected!, so we were delighted to find that our hotel was comfortably warm throughout and continued to be so during our stay of four nights.

Our twin-bedded room was bright and airy, and provided ample storage space for clothes. The wardrobe had really user-friendly hangers with which we had no need to struggle, as is often the case with fixed hangers. We particularly appreciated the generous supply of tea, coffee. hot chocolate, milk and shortbread, replenished daily, and the provision of a teapot as well as a kettle.

The bathroom, while compact, had clearly been upgraded recently to provide the most up-to-date fittings and furnishings, including a fantastic twin-headed shower with one head being of dinner plate size. Lovely thick hand towels and bath towels were changed daily, there was a constant supply of piping hot water, with efficient temperature control for individual tastes, and all the usual toiletries were provided.

Breakfast was of the help-yourself-from-the-buffet type for juices, fruits, cereals and some particularly delicious yoghurts, while freshly cooked-to-order hot dishes were served at table. The full Scottish breakfast comprising numerous items was especially appetising, but there were also some very tempting fish dishes of Scottish kippers and Scottish haddock.

Staff in this small hotel deserve special mention for being so friendly, attentive and helpful and housekeeping staff can be proud of the excellent job they do in keeping all parts of the hotel clean and fresh.

The only negative relates to the pillows which we found to be unyielding and uncomfortable and sadly, of the type found too often in hotels that offer no pillow menu.

But I must not end on a sour note because this is a very good small hotel that offers fair value for money and is staffed by nice friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We book this hotel based on past Tripadvisor reports. We spent 6 days at this hotel. The hotel staff were warm and friendly. During our stay in a double room, we were not happy about the following points:

There was no hot water for our shower during our first day
There was no hot water for our basin for two days
The towels were of poor quality and threadbare
The room was hot, even with the windows open
Only one bedside table in a double room
The room wasn't dusted every day
The bed sheets were too big and came off
The stairs to the room were dangerous (and we are disabled)
The room needed a good lick of paint. Bare wood across the windows
Only enough tea making for one cup of tea

As we were charged £130 a night for this room, we feel that we have been short changed.

Not impressed at all. Choose a B&B if you can!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertaberdeen, director at Kveldsro House, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
There are 3 shift superviors at the kveldrso and I have spoken to each of them in connection with these guests.We were happy to provide porterage on their arrival with their 8 bags.
There was a problem reported by them of the hot water in their sink; we arranged the plumber for the following morning; and it was fixed at 9.00am when the plumber could access the room.
The rooms are spotless; the house team do their best when a room is a stay for cleaning etc, but do have to be careful not to move or shift personal belongings and baggage which can sometimes be spread all over the room; the towels are white egyptian cotton and are not threadbare.
The stairs are typical of an older property ie the country house hotel in town.
We did have the hottest day recorded in may in Lerwick, so it was particularly warm fo 2 days or so; not however a common complaint here, and more of a celebration by everyone else!
Sometimes a guest gets a bee in their bonnet about one relativley small thing, and then they take against you which seems to be the case here. None of these points, other than of course the water problem specific to that room, were brought to the shift supervisors attention.
We again provided full porterage on departure, but the guest observed that a small item was missing from her room; which of course proved to be not th case as it was lurking in the bottom of one of the 8 cases........
So we are sorry these guests didnt feel that their stay was as they wished it; we provided, as usual, personal personable service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
296 reviews
4.9 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kveldsro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kveldsro House

Property: Kveldsro House
Address: 20 Greenfield Place, Lerwick ZE1 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kveldsro House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kveldsro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kveldsro House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing