We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kveldsro House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kveldsro House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Near the centre of town, so it was easy to walk everywhere. A wonderful large room overlooking the sea and Bressay. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom great, with a bath, thank goodness. Very clean. Food very good and varied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    52
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
14
37
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
retford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. Highlights included the four poster bed and meeting Jane. What a wonderful host. Would definitely recommend this hotel and have nothing bad to say.
I was recommended the fish and chips and to be honest not had better anywhere in the uk.
I have to visit Shetlands on an annual basis from now on business and will definitely make the Kveldros my number One choice.
Thanks again Jane for the wonderful Shetlands welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikkasizzlerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Finding accommodation in Lerwick is quite a challenge.

This hotel is comfortable and centrally located. There is a nice view from the hotel across the bay towards Bressay. The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was good. I didn't have an evening meal at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I made my first visit to Lerwick and stayed here. I found the service wonderful--great staff who were helpful, friendly, and often went beyond the call of duty to ensure I had a great visit. My room also was very clean and great central location to harbour street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Three of us went here last night for dinner before we went to the cinema. It was terrible.
Two of us ordered cheesy potato skins to start, which were very greasy. I ordered a prawn cocktail, which had so much marie-rose sauce it made me feel ill. The prawns and salad were underneath with a mountain of sauce on the top. There wasn't even enough room in the bowl to mix it in properly - it was not what I was expecting at all.
For our mains we ordered a mixed grill, chicken & ham pasta and BBQ chicken with cheesy potato skins. The mixed grill had one small bit of lamb, a dry bit of gammon and one sausage. The onion rings were soggy and everything was greasy, including the chips. The pasta was very bland and everything, including the meat, was washed out & white. It also had a taste of stock cube that hadn't been mixed in properly. The chicken, although it was tasty enough, was dry. The potato skins were greasy. I could have eaten it but I felt so sick after eating the obscure amount of marie-rose sauce that I barely touched it.
The staff were friendly enough, but our waitress struggled to understand what we were saying.
I've definitely had far better meals for a lot cheaper. I don't mind paying extra if what you get is worth it, but this certainly wasn't. £67 wasted, and ruined a good night. It's a good job the film we watched afterwards was good or it would have been a 60 mile round trip to Lerwick for nothing.
Do not go here to eat. There's a lot of places in Lerwick that are far more deserving of your time & money. If I could give it 0/5 I would.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank xWackix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great bathrooms with OK bedroom, friendly staff. Food variable but never a disaster. Great views over to Bressay and just a short walk into the centre of Lerwick. On balance your best bet in Shetland.


Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank iTALOPHILEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Came here for a steak with my partner, it was very well cooked to my taste and the onion rings served with it were the best i've had! Staff seemed a bit shy and there was no background music so the atmosphere was a bit awkward. But the food was superb and we enjoyed it overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suiteheart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
75 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
210 reviews
18.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kveldsro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kveldsro House

Property: Kveldsro House
Address: 20 Greenfield Place, Lerwick ZE1 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kveldsro House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kveldsro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kveldsro House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing