We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice reception area, rooms a little tired”
Review of The Lerwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lerwick Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've stayed here many times, but never written a review before but thought I would this time. Great effort has been made to make the reception area very modern, but walking through the doors of the reception to the bedroom areas and it's like chalk and cheese... tired, dated decor, dark corridors. Rooms are clean (although there was dust on the iPod dock), beds are comfortable, but again rooms badly need brought up to modern standards. And can you please fix the WiFi... it's great to see you no longer charge extra for it (about time), but as it stands, the performance is very poor and of no use really.

Breakfast was interesting... I only wanted sausage, bacon, and fried egg and that is literally what I got... 1 sausage, 1 bacon, and 1 fried egg.... come on... that's just mean. Sadly the toast also had a bit of mould on the crust. I just cut this off, but overheard someone else complaining about this too.

Room Tip: The sea views are best - otherwise it's a view of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dja771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you get a room facing the sea. The hotel its self is nice not to modern not to old the food is axcellent especially if you likr sea food. As usuall work paid for and picked my accomodattion.
The hotel sits overlooking a bay just in the town of Lerwick . It has plenty off parking and is warm and comfortable. The local sports centre and swiming pool is about 1\2 a mile away and the town centre the same.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. The Best thing about this hotel is the view you get if you stay in one of the rooms facing the seaside - unbeatable (see pic). The second best thing is the restaurant food, which really is great (not the stake though). Staff is also nice and check-in / out is quick. Free parking. 10 mins walking distance from "downtown".

The hotel has recently undergone some restoration to the entrance and lobby area when they should really have better spent the money modernising the rooms instead. Rooms are smallish (unless you get the very large suites). Beds are old and not that comfortable. Everything, from curtains to bed lining to closets is old and a bit tired. The hotel and the rooms are clean though. WiFi is a bit rubbish in certain areas but it is complimentary and i believe they are working on it.

Overall, the hotel is good but definitely overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room with seaside view and good wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zibbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our room had a great view of the bay. Breakfast was excellent--all the grilled kippers you could want. The room was fine. Seemed reasonably priced, especially after London. Not located in the heart of Lerwick but it's only a jaunty 10 minute stroll to anywhere. And closer to the seals at the Tesco and the Broch of Clickimin than staying on the high street.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeGrantGuignol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Nice stay in this hotel.
We stayed as a family, we hadn't booked enough room because all the hotels were full in Lerwick. So we arrived a little bit stress that we would have to sleep in the car.
The staff gently found one room for us and they was really nice.
The room was ok, with a nice view of the sea.
The only thing is that the decoration and furniture in reception, dining room and bar are very nice, but in the room not so, it's kind of disapointing.
The bathroom was very nice but there was some dirt on the shower curtains.

Room Tip: Choose the room with sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nynad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is a liitle bit out of the town centre, however many of the rooms have a really great sea view. The rooms are clean and reasonably equipped with a good en suite. The decor and furnishings in some areas are a bit tired however the rooms are comfortable.

The bar is fully stocked and the staff fairly attentive.

Breakfasts are fine with a good range of dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broomhillbillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I am lucky enough to travel to Shetland at least 4 times a year on business generally with a couple of colleagues. I have yet to be let down at this hotel. The rooms are clean, warm an comfortable with the hospitality of the staff , from the manager to the bar staff, first class. The food is great with breakfast cooked to order. Going back in June and looking forward to my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
4.4 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
25.3 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
85 reviews
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerwick Hotel

Address: 15 South Road, Lerwick, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range: £84 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lerwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Lerwick
The Lerwick Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing