We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly refurbished Bay Brasserie”
Review of The Lerwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lerwick Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Called in for a bar meal but opted for The Bay Brasserie. This is their newly fitted out resturant so it all looks inviting and the welcome was warm. I ordered locally landed fish which was well presented and tasted every bit as good as I expected. I was pleased to find a couple of locally produced cheeses included on the cheeseboard and enjoyed the one with caraway seeds enough to seek out Shetland Cheeses' stall at a local market so I could take some home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarcourtEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

My family treated me to a birthday dinner on the 11th December, 2013
We were shown through to the former Restaurant/function room which was completely refurbished and modernised. The Staff were welcoming and attentive. The menu was extensive and varied and interesting. The food was presented beautifully and I must say my Luxury Surf and Turf was wonderful. All the other members of my family were equally pleased with their choice. The Sweet was also lovely. I would thoroughly recommend a visit here to anyone wishing for a pleasant evening with excellent food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammienorie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was poor serving Plastic bread toast for breakfast.
Rooms were clean, but needed a total revamp. havent stayed anywhere with ponk sheets for over 20 yesrs! room walls were paper thin, could hear everything going on in nearby rooms, people walking around and closing doors. Not recommended if want a good nights sleep.
Very expensive for such poor quality.
If had room overlooking the sea it was pleasant as the other option is the car park!
Staff were friendly which was good

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiltshireLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed here a few times. The staff are always helpful and cheerful and at last it seems that they owners are spending some cash to modernise the place, starting with the reception area and dinning room. Although on the outside I am unsure of the black cladding and painted rough cast, or the wisdom of placing light pillars two feet high. Just the right height for someone to trip over.
The rooms are still the same, stuck in the 70's and I hope will be upgraded soon.
The food in the bistro was first class although I was a wee bit disappointed with breakfast, perhaps just an off day, as previously they have been very good.
Make no mistake I will stay in the Lerwick the next time I visit Shetland, which I hope won't be to long.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Been many times and we always have had an excellent meal. The Sunday carvery is excellent with a good choice of meats and all different vegetables. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. A very relaxing place with wonderful views out to sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've stayed here many times, but never written a review before but thought I would this time. Great effort has been made to make the reception area very modern, but walking through the doors of the reception to the bedroom areas and it's like chalk and cheese... tired, dated decor, dark corridors. Rooms are clean (although there was dust on the iPod dock), beds are comfortable, but again rooms badly need brought up to modern standards. And can you please fix the WiFi... it's great to see you no longer charge extra for it (about time), but as it stands, the performance is very poor and of no use really.

Breakfast was interesting... I only wanted sausage, bacon, and fried egg and that is literally what I got... 1 sausage, 1 bacon, and 1 fried egg.... come on... that's just mean. Sadly the toast also had a bit of mould on the crust. I just cut this off, but overheard someone else complaining about this too.

Room Tip: The sea views are best - otherwise it's a view of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dja771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you get a room facing the sea. The hotel its self is nice not to modern not to old the food is axcellent especially if you likr sea food. As usuall work paid for and picked my accomodattion.
The hotel sits overlooking a bay just in the town of Lerwick . It has plenty off parking and is warm and comfortable. The local sports centre and swiming pool is about 1\2 a mile away and the town centre the same.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
25.3 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerwick Hotel

Address: 15 South Road, Lerwick, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lerwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Lerwick
The Lerwick Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing