We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Brasserie at the Lerwick Hotel is very good indeed...”
Review of The Lerwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lerwick Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Bay Brasserie at the Lerwick Hotel is very good indeed...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

didn't stay here so cannot comment on the Hotel. We were 6 for dinner. The first thing to say is that the hotel bar is streets ahead of anything else I've found in Shetland. Comfortable furniture, pleasant décor, spacious areas, and somewhere a couple can go in comfort. There are few, if any bars in Lerwick where this is true. Added to which they had local 'Simmer Dim' ale on draught - gets my vote. We didn't have time for a full meal so opted for mains. I had a venison steak on crushed garlic potatoes, and my other half a halibut steak. Both were first class. Service was good throughout, if a little patchy on friendliness in the bar. Free WiFi throughout. Immaculate loos. Highly recommended. Almost a 5!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    58
    56
    22
    13
See reviews for
30
40
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at the Lerwick for four night s whilst visiting this wonderful part of the world on business. Overall the hotel is comfortable and the staff polite and efficient. The room, whilst spotlessly clean was of dated decor. The food was delicious, especially the evening meals. Breakfast was a little inconsistent. On one morning the semi-skimmed milk for cereal was off, on two occasions my toast was forgotten about, and the amount of bacon and eggs served varied each day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoalieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Lerwick Hotel for the first time on the 27.05.2014. I went to the restaurant for a meal at night, the food was excellent and the views were fantastic. Breakfast was also very good, my only crticism was the coffee was not hot enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jksvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Booked in as single as travelling alone and it wasn't the cheapest I have to say .... Almost £100 per night bed & breakfast. Room was ok but cramped and the shower cubicle tiny! Thank goodness I am not on the larger side as it was ridiculously tight fit. The room had TV and usual stuff like kettle and hair dryer. The restaurant area was lovely and beautiful views and the food was nicely presented however the chips were undercooked and not great. How hard can it be to fry frozen chips? Staff were happy to help and attentive but on arrival I had no clue where the rooms were and no visible direction signs to rooms .... I ended up looking lost for 5 mins before joining a queue of people paying their food bill and asking. Not the best system in my mind as privacy during card PIN numbers was impossible.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCDBWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I ate 3 nights at the Bay Brasserie restaurant while staying at this property in Lerwick and we enjoyed our dining experience each time. The chef has a penchant for presentation which I appreciate, but also with decent portions and quality ingredients. Whether seafood, meat or vegetarian there are options for everyone all from a pretty extensive menu. The service is a little hit and miss with some waiting staff - not always understanding simple requests. However, all-in-all a very good experience. On the wider hotel front; the front-of-house staff were consistently efficient and the rooms small but very satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekker_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Pauline went to the newly refurbished Lerwick Hotel Restaurant and bar and has raved about the food since. We'll be booking up to go together shortly, but in the meantime from what she and others have said its well worth a trip.
The menu is extensive. She had the mussels to start and the venison as her main course and said both were excellent.
The staff had made arangements for a private room and although the numbers in her party dropped this was no problem to the staff who moved them to the main dining area with no fuss and looked after all their needs.
Nice to hear somewhere is making an effort in customer service. Local Shetlanders will know what i mean by that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hotel well situated, room a wee bit damp as next to wall facing the sea and howling Shetland gales but with excellent heating, clean and bright with good sized bath and plenty of tea/coffee. The shining light with this place is the food. Great breakfast and excellent restaurant. We are veggies and the chef went to great lengths to cater for us producing some fantastic dishes. Well worth a stop in for a meal, would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lerwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lerwick Hotel

Property: The Lerwick Hotel
Address: 15 South Road, Lerwick, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lerwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lerwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Lerwick
The Lerwick Hotel Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing