We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base”
Review of The Shetland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shetland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is directly across from the ferry terminal ,if your unlucky and get a sea view then you will hear the noises of the ships and docks during the night. My best description of this hotel is something from the 70s with its out dated build and dark wood furniture. This is out weighed by the cleanliness of the rooms, the service and position of the hotel. The food we had was superb mussells in batter was my fav.

The staff are attentive and helpful, I will stay again.

Room Tip: ask to go at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seadreamrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Travelled as part of a group of 30 brass band players. Smoothly checked in. Excellent location right opposite the ferry terminal. Short walk into lerwick. Food was average for breakfast. Unfortunately let down by one of the worst night porters that I have ever encountered - downright obstructive and lazy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrDaveScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Architecturally, the Shetland Hotel is a real monstrosity, a worthy representative of the nadir in building design that was the 1970s. While the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the decor of those on the third floor is tired and old fashioned, and interiors in general are in need of a make-over. There was also a troubling smell of fumes from supplementary heating in the bleak reception area.

However, the restaurant has good views over the harbour and the Sound of Bressay and the food is good, particularly the cooked breakfasts! The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraemePurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed here at the last minute as part of a work crew destined to go offshore in the North Sea, but delayed due to heavy snow in the North of Scotland / Aberdeen.
Hotel is ok - a little old fashioned in decor, but warm, clean and the food is good.
Again, rooms are ok, but decor a little dated - in need of an upgrade to be honest (reminded me of some of the hotels in Aberdeen a few years ago - particularly the Thistle chain - which then all went through a bit of an overhaul.

Wi-Fi signal was one of the best I've had anywhere - signal 5x5 on all levels! (think they've installed routers on all levels?)

No Sky Sports - so had to venture out to find a bar that was showing a key cup tie that evening!

Evening meal was fine, and breakfast buffet was very good - with good variety, and friendly and helpful staff.

To help future guests, the hotel is built on a hill side, and if you get dropped off on the 'harbour' side you will need to go up a few floors (lift available if required- esp. with cases / heavy bags) to get to reception and then go back down again for restaurant and get to your rooms.
If you venture out into Lerwick, and come back later, you're best to go up to the 'top' entrance as the bottom one was closed. Had to buzz the night porter who came in about 5 mins - so no real issues here to be honest.
Locally, there's a cash point down by the Cooperative, and the bar we watched the football in was called the Douglas Arms - about a 10-15 min walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layton_lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed here on the 23rd Dec. 2012 due to bad weather offshore, have stayed before but neglected to write a review of the Shetland Hotel that time, again it was a pleasure to stay here. the rooms are spotless and very comfortable with an i-pod docking station in the room, considering it is a long way from the main land and civilisation in general the food here never dissappoints, the staff are extremely pleasant and very attentive at the dining table, restaurant and bar area are spotless and modern, only downside was they closed the bar at 14:30 and didn't reopen again until 17:00, the lack of sky TV for watching football is another of my pet hates but that doesn't reflect in any way on the staff.
If it doesn't rain in Lerwick then its a pleasant stroll into town but that is very rare in the Shetlands, the ferry terminal is directly opposit the hotel which might be useful for tourists coming off the Aberdeen ferry, its about a 45 miniutes drive from Sumburgh airport on the south of the island.

Room Tip: Ideal for buisness travellers and tourists alike, no problems with the rooms or getting a quiet nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My family moved from Shetland 2 generations ago and I come up here every 3 or 4 years just catch up with friends and distant relations. I have stayed the hotel once before. It has recently been refurbished and is now up to a nice standard. Staff, rooms, food and bars are all very good.
I should point out that if you enter the hotel from the main street you have to go to the top floor, 3 above, to get to reception this is because the hotel is built on the side of a cliff. Never had any problem getting in at 3am. If you are going to Shetland you know why your going so I dont need to say anything about the wonderful things you will see and find there. If you find yourself wandering round " Harrys Department Store" tell him Frank says "Hi"

On a final note, if you are flying to Shetland it pays to book early, like 6 months early, the one carrier charges what they like. It is much cheaper for me to drive from Glasgow to Aberdeen and pick up the flight there.

Have a nice time on the "Islands at the Edge of the World"

Room Tip: book ahead and ask for a room on the top floort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank committeeofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel,rooms were large,a double and single bed,and a good sized flat screen tv. food in the restaurant was excellent,across from ferry terminal and ten minute walk to the main street,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weemanCoatbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.9 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
229 reviews
1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
255 reviews
17 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
330 reviews
24.5 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shetland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shetland Hotel

Address: Holmsgarth Road, Lerwick ZE1 0PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range: £79 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shetland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Shetland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shetland Hotel Lerwick
The Shetland Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing