We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay clear of the Shetland Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shetland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shetland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Stay clear of the Shetland Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I came on business and my local business colleagues booked me into this hotel. The check in procedure went smoothly and quick.

I was given a sea facing room but straight away asked for it to be changed due to the noise and instead I was given room 508 at the back of the hotel which I was grateful for.

Unfortunately the room door did not open with the card although it was pre-programmed so I went back to reception and the staff at reception were very helpful and Tanya came and opened it and then swopped my keycard for a physical key. She was apologetic and most helpful, even offered to carry my bag.

The room is definitely dated but clean and very comfortable so no complaints on that front. The bathroom is bright and with modern fixtures and fittings.

The downside was the total lack of respect to cater for my needs. As I can only eat a special diet I always travel with my frozen prepacked meals. In all hotels I stay around the world they will always heat it up in their microwave and I then take it to my room to eat. I was sent by reception to the restaurant bar to ask the staff to microwave the food. The lady behind the counter asked Mr Angus Duncan the General Manager who was on hand but he sternly refused point blank, no reason given. I was shocked. Not wanting to create a scene I quietly left and returned to my room reeling in shock.

15 mins later Abby the Assistant manager then came to my hotel room and apologised for the incident in the restaurant & asked if she can heat up my frozen meal. Never ever in all the many hotels I have stayed in across the Globe has someone coldly refused to heat up my meal. I do respect their change of heart but will never stay here again. On all my previous trips to the Shetland Island I have always found the people living here to be very friendly and helpful including this time. All the other staff in the hotel other than the GM were likewise friendly and helpful.

Having previously stayed at ‘The Lerwick Hotel’ which is their sister hotel I had no problems there with heating up my food so I take it as some issue just with Mr Angus Duncan the General Manager.

My advice is stay clear of the Shetland Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rm1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    48
    40
    11
    16
See reviews for
12
28
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

It is hard to find hotel space in Lerwick because the oil mini-boom has brought a lot of business people into town. This is a biggish hotel, and had the only available rooms the week I wanted to travel. It is basically good with reasonable value for money. The things that irk are the very odd colour schemes, and clashing patterns, in the halls and rooms, and the heavy uninspired food. On the plus side, though, the room was large and well heated (important in the rainy damp climate of early spring), the bathroom had been modernized and was excellent, the dining room is large and has big windows with a view of the active harbour, the little bar is friendly and comfortable, and the reception staff were very kind and helpful, beyond the call of duty. The location is very convenient to the ferry if you arrive that way, and is on a road that leads quickly to the countryside and main routes around the island. Going to the Shetland Islands, you likely enjoy walking, so the 20-30 minute brisk walk to the center of town will be fine, but if you like to have your hotel on top of the main attractions, this is a little distance away. I enjoyed the walk back and forth, and preferred it to trying to deal with parking in the tight knot of streets in the picturesque center of town.

Room Tip: Higher up gets a better view and a little less highway sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sztravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The best thing about the hotel is it is near the ferry terminal.
The decor I think is the original and apart from the restaurant nothing has changed since my first visit in the nineties.
My room was to the back and I could have been in any of the groups hotels in Lerwick. The decor is identical to the Lerwick Hotel. The carpet was grubby and could have done with being replaced.
The bathroom though had been recently refurbished and was bright and clean.
The food in the restaurant was good and plentiful. Breakfast was good and was not buffet service, apart from the fruit juices and cereals etc.
The staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Which is the hotels saving grace.
When will the owners invest in the group? But there again why when they have a virtual monopoly in Lerwick. My stay was OK but could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Sacrifice the view of the docks and get a room at the black for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is directly across from the ferry terminal ,if your unlucky and get a sea view then you will hear the noises of the ships and docks during the night. My best description of this hotel is something from the 70s with its out dated build and dark wood furniture. This is out weighed by the cleanliness of the rooms, the service and position of the hotel. The food we had was superb mussells in batter was my fav.

The staff are attentive and helpful, I will stay again.

Room Tip: ask to go at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seadreamrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Travelled as part of a group of 30 brass band players. Smoothly checked in. Excellent location right opposite the ferry terminal. Short walk into lerwick. Food was average for breakfast. Unfortunately let down by one of the worst night porters that I have ever encountered - downright obstructive and lazy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrDaveScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Architecturally, the Shetland Hotel is a real monstrosity, a worthy representative of the nadir in building design that was the 1970s. While the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the decor of those on the third floor is tired and old fashioned, and interiors in general are in need of a make-over. There was also a troubling smell of fumes from supplementary heating in the bleak reception area.

However, the restaurant has good views over the harbour and the Sound of Bressay and the food is good, particularly the cooked breakfasts! The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraemePurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed here at the last minute as part of a work crew destined to go offshore in the North Sea, but delayed due to heavy snow in the North of Scotland / Aberdeen.
Hotel is ok - a little old fashioned in decor, but warm, clean and the food is good.
Again, rooms are ok, but decor a little dated - in need of an upgrade to be honest (reminded me of some of the hotels in Aberdeen a few years ago - particularly the Thistle chain - which then all went through a bit of an overhaul.

Wi-Fi signal was one of the best I've had anywhere - signal 5x5 on all levels! (think they've installed routers on all levels?)

No Sky Sports - so had to venture out to find a bar that was showing a key cup tie that evening!

Evening meal was fine, and breakfast buffet was very good - with good variety, and friendly and helpful staff.

To help future guests, the hotel is built on a hill side, and if you get dropped off on the 'harbour' side you will need to go up a few floors (lift available if required- esp. with cases / heavy bags) to get to reception and then go back down again for restaurant and get to your rooms.
If you venture out into Lerwick, and come back later, you're best to go up to the 'top' entrance as the bottom one was closed. Had to buzz the night porter who came in about 5 mins - so no real issues here to be honest.
Locally, there's a cash point down by the Cooperative, and the bar we watched the football in was called the Douglas Arms - about a 10-15 min walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank layton_lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.9 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Self Catering Shetland
Self Catering Shetland
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shetland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shetland Hotel

Property: The Shetland Hotel
Address: Holmsgarth Road, Lerwick ZE1 0PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shetland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shetland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shetland Hotel Lerwick
The Shetland Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing