We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes.”
Review of The Shetland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shetland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Kincardine O'Neil, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was good value.
We went back this year and got the shock of our lives, we were charged £120 per night for a good sized twin room with the wall paper hanging off the wall, one of the beds were never made even though it was slept in, the carpets on the stairs were all frayed which was a trip hazard. I could go on and on about various other complaints but I could be hear all night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    54
    44
    13
    16
See reviews for
13
31
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Spent just the 1 night here, some good points and bad points

Good

Rooms are a good size, and clean and tidy
Beds aren't too bad for comfort
Restaurant is well decorated (but see bad points!)
Not too bad a view, in between the ships out to sea

Bad
Rooms seem a little dated, could do with a refresher and some clean paint!
Restaurant food is actually not bad, but maybe I was unlucky the service was terrible. Some other people were sat down for 15mins or more before even getting a menu
The windows are pretty poor quality (to the point they are degrading) and therefore noise carries through if on the road side

I would stay here again, but it is reasonably expensive for what you get, it's not in town and there are better hotels here for the same price

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have passed by this hotel a few times before and from the outside it looks as bad as it gets.

Heard some very negative comments from co-workers too beforehand and was not very pleased when my company booked me into it middle of August.

But it was actually very good. Nice, clean and comfortable with an updated bathroom in a very quiet room located at the rear of the hotel, where the main entrance is located. The temperature in the room when I entered was just right and there was plenty of space to spread out.

I even had the window open all night and I didn't hear any noise, very rare indeed!

A little problem I encountered was dealt with very friendly and within 5 minutes everything got sorted.

The restaurant was a huge surprise too, excellent food of a standard I didn't expect in a location like Lerwick. Very nice waiters, good selection, wonderfully presented food and very tasty.

Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent three nights at the Shetland Hotel in Lerwick and were quite impressed by it. The rooms were well equipped and spacious: even the single room had plenty of space. Each room had a double bed, a desk with chair, a table with two chairs, as well as a wardrobe and TV on a unit. The tea and coffee making facilities were replenished daily. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was lovely: self-service cereal, fruit and pastries, with the hot meal cooked to order.
There is plenty of car parking at the hotel too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A gloomy, shabbily furnished hotel a good 20 minutes walk from the town centre. Helpful and pleasant staff, but a poor situation (I had an unrivalled view of the ferry terminal roof) and grubby1970s decor. Needs a complete overhaul. But the restaurant was good - I had an excellent steak.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lerwick hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I work in the oil & gas industry and I stay in hotels in lerwich on a regular basis, let me tell you that the shetland hotel is the best of all the hotels in Berwick.

It's true that the place could do with some modern decoration but if you want somewhere clean comfortable with good food then this is the place. To be honest I don't know what my company paid for the room so I can not rate the pricing but I think I would defiantly choose to stay here over any other hotel in lerwick

I had the cowboy steak for tea and it was beautifully, almost orgasmic.

Room Tip: None really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidderminster
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

As a professional hotelier I found this hotel most strange. I guess the owners are either 'sweating their assets' or short of money. The hotel s decorated in the kind of dark executive chique used in the 1980's. Perhaps it hasn't been decorated with then. Many of the double glazed windows were running with water between the panes so it was hard to see out and the corridors were painted a dark Faustian red.
The bathrooms have recently been refurbed and are well appointed, but one odd item was that each room has its own hot water tank which doesn't provide sufficient hot water to fill a bath. The single beds were different sizes and didn't match and even the mattresses and bases weren't 'bed follows'. Each bed was covered in different coloured bed linen and was made up differently on each with the cover draped to the floor on one and tucked in on the other. On one day the floor of the room wasn't vacuumed and even a 'Twix' wrapper left on the floor wasn't cleared.
The hotel, I expect, along with others in Lerwick was full of single men who we assumed were oil workers. As it doesn't seem to be hard to fill the rooms, perhaps this is the reason for the lack of spend on the decor.
Breakfast was adequate, I never eat anything cooked and my wife stopped ordering anything cooked after the first two days of our stay. On the other hand, dinner was excellent, the menu interesting, well cooked and well served.
Staff were all attentive and helpful and as a result of a complaint we made the bill was reduced.
If I were to return I would probably try the Lerwick Hotel even though it belongs to the same company.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.9 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
81 reviews
4.4 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eddlewood Guest House
Eddlewood Guest House
#6 of 12 in Lerwick
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shetland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shetland Hotel

Property: The Shetland Hotel
Address: Holmsgarth Road, Lerwick ZE1 0PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shetland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shetland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shetland Hotel Lerwick
The Shetland Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing