We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming guesthouse close to the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eddlewood Guest House
Ranked #6 of 12 Lerwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at Eddlewood in August 2011 on business. It is a 3 STB star Guesthouse that is located close to the town centre (5 mins walk from Queens Hotel and main shopping area, 10-12 minutes from the excellent museum and cafe). I was referred to it by another B&B that was full. Note that the airport bus will drop/collect you from outside the Guesthouse

I had a twin room (single occupancy). I have not had uniformly good experiences staying on Shetland previously so I am cautious when trying new places. Eddlewood is very nice. Charlotte, the hostess, took over running the B&B late last year and appears to genuinely like having visitors stay. The common landing upstairs might have been more sympathetically converted (not by current proprietors afaik)but it’s bright and clean. The room was sympathetically decorated and comfortable and the bathroom was also very good. Beds were a bit soft for me but comfortable all the same. My room faced the main road but road noise was not noticeable.

The shower was excellent – a proper power shower that left you feeling invigorated and which held a steady temperature – bliss!. Last but not least, there is free wifi that works – this is important in Shetland as mobile broadband provision is sparse – you really need wifi access to do anything meaningful on your phone or computer.

Breakfast was nice and well prepared (I’m not a big breakfast person so probably not best person to comment) and refills/more toast offered which I always like.

All in all a very good experience and a facility I shall definitely be back to stay for my next visit … if they have space.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank whatulookinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cosmopol70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank NicolasR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gigio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.3 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
4.7 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
86 reviews
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eddlewood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eddlewood Guest House

Address: 8 Clairmont Place, Lerwick ZE1 0BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lerwick
Price Range: £87 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eddlewood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house situated close to Lerwick town centre. We offer clean and comfortable rooms with free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities, freeview TV and all our rooms are en-suite. We also offer a laundry service free of charge.We are situated on the bus route to Sumburgh airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eddlewood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eddlewood Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing