We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hostel, very close to the centre”

Islesburgh House Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Islesburgh House Hostel
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice clean hostel, very close to the centre”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hostel was a very convenient base for my Shetland visit. It is very close to the Lerwick centre. The facilities here are very good - large kitchen, dining room, TV lounge etc were all very clean and perfectly usable. The other guests were also good nurtured and it felt completely safe to stay in. The kitchen has a microwave in addition to all the other stuff, which meant I could get microwave meals from Tesco to save myself the hassle.

The reception staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

The only downsides I felt were the small lockers in the dorm - I was expecting something larger than a shoebox where you'd struggle to fit in a small backpack - and the other minor issue was the lack of food service -you have to go to the next door building to get breakfast if you wanted.

I'd happily stay here again if I visited Shetlands.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
8
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at the Hostel weekend 12th/13th July. Staff warned that there was a large group in including a lot of kids, so might be a bit noisy. Jim could not have been more helpful and even offered a refund if I wished to stay elsewhere!! A beautiful old building finished to a very high standard inside. Cleaning staff in everyday and again very helpful and accomodating. Can certainly recommend. I even got invited to the group's party on Sunday night. Brilliant island hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fantastic place. Location perfect - 5 minute walk from centre but quiet location. Jim and his team will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Cleaners come in every day so cleanliness is a of the highest standard. Great facilities on doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveclap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The most amazing place to stay!
So accommodating, took care of our every need, friendly, helpful and welcoming. We came to Shetland for a very special event and it was made even more special by this wonderful hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were really looking forward to our Shetland holiday and exploring the islands. This hostel had really good reviews, but to our disappointment we now have spent a whole week without any sleep at all. There were parties all night, slamming with doors and the hostel management seemed to approve. If you want any sleep during your stay, we recommend you finding somewhere else to stay. Otherwise the location and rooms are good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gunn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Right from making the telephone booking, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Very clean, with great shared facilities - large kitchen and dining room and comfortable communal areas - quiet reading area and tv room with sofas. Lovely hot showers. I had a bunk in a 12 person dormitory, the mattress could have been more comfortable - after six nights I was missing my own bed but that was the only fault. There was a handy plug by the bed to charge my phone and free wifi - not only in the hostel but the community centre next door (which did good cooked breakfasts) and all the ferry ports!
There was a wide range of ages staying but all were friendly and I met some really interesting people. Lots of leaflets and information about the surrounding area were available.
It wasn't at all intimidating for the first time solo traveller - it was my first hostel experience and very positive; and at £20 a night, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Second visit as this is the only hostel in Lerwick. I think a refurbish of rooms is required as the iron bunks with hospital type mattresses are a tad out-dated along with the well worn linen. However you cannot fault the cleanliness and very good kitchen facilities and of course the welcome. This is not 5 star as I have stayed in beautiful YHA Hostels in Yorkshire which are far superior. Yes, I would stay again but I would request a particular floor.

Room Tip: Once again placed in a top floor room for four (201), no shower on this floor however 2 toilets (mal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.3 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Knysna House
#5 of 6 in Lerwick
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islesburgh House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islesburgh House Hostel

Property: Islesburgh House Hostel
Address: King Harald Street | Islesburgh Complex, Lerwick ZE1 0EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Lerwick
Also Known As:
Islesburgh House Hostel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing