We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B, Obnoxious Owner !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Orchy Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Had the misfortune of staying here during a recent motorcycling trip on the islands.
Upon meeting Trevor, the owner his first response on meeting us was 'I Fxxxxxg hate bikes' !!
and then proceeded to tell keep us waiting for our room by telling us long winded horror stories of what had happened to other motorcyclists on the island !
Not what you want at the start of a holiday.

The rooms were basic and cheap, although on the plus side the views from the front were good and the breakfast was good. But seemed overpriced by about £30.

The owner also seemed to be pushing us to eat in his Thai restaurant that evening but we decided to go out instead to see more of the town.
The next day we could tell he wasn't happy about this as he decided to ex-communicate us!
Looking back that probably wasn't a bad thing !
I don't often leave bad reviews but I would avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel if you must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2016

We regret that you had such an unpleasant experience during your stay. Please accept our apology for the poor service you received on that occasion.
Our staff are now praised for their courtesy, friendliness and cleanliness. We think you would be pleased by the changes we have made.
We are now under new management as the person you mentioned is no longer the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's in Lerwick and around Shetland as I carry out my business. The Glen Orchy is a bit more expensive than most B&B's but less expensive than most hotels. I last stayed at Glen Orchy about two years ago and most recently two nights ago. The hotel is located in a superb location on the Knab and most rooms seem to have excellent views over the Town. Its quiet, easy to park and just ten minutes walk into town. In the extended part of the hotel the walls are thin and you might hear next doors TV or voices if you try very hard, but its no different in a Travelodge or Premier Inn on the mainland. The owner has a Thai family so they offer Thai food in the evenings but its hardly an unpleasant smell around the hotel. Breakfasts are traditional Scottish/Shetland are are superb. All staff are attentive and the owner simply aims to make sure that as a visitor you are informed about the hotel and about Lerwick.
I was in room 1 the other night and it was spotless, absolutely spotless, the bed was comfortable, the bedlinen and towels all seemed practically new and crisp. The Tv was simple to operate with multiple channels to choose from. Tea and coffee facilities were excellent and sugar, milk, etc all contained in very practical tupperware. The kettle was pristine. The bathroom was immaculate. The room had a wifi aerial on the ceiling so connecting to your laptop was easy.
I have met the owner on previous visits and he is a gregarious gentleman who likes to chat a bit, maybe a little too much, but if you are in a hurry a polite goodbye is all that is needed to be on your way.
My only negative comment is the price could be a little lower, however there are very limited alternatives in Lerwick so The Glen Orchy is entitled to price to the market.
I would happily recommend this Hotel but if the "smell of Thai food" offends you, then go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear where the views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinODonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2016

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would welcome a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

I regularly travel on business and have stayed in many hotels but this is the worst by far. The walls are very thin you can.hear exactly what people are talking about next door. You can smell the thai food all through the corridors as well as in the rooms. If you want to change tv channel you need to reset the box. The single beds are very squeaky with springs poking into you and dont plan.on having a long lie as every floorboard squeaks i was woken at quarter to 6 in the morning. For the price per night i would think again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david_mci2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The large numbers of oil and gas workers you complained about are now housed at their worksites and our current guests tend to be more courteous of one another.
The television sets are all digital HG and there is free wifi for all our guests.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find new memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

First time staying here, booked quite late but I did think it was pricey for what it was. I'm not a fan of Thai food, but if you are this place is for you. My room was clean and tidy, the tv was small and there was no wifi from my room. A nice touch was the Shetland tablet which was very tasty (in fact made me go out and buy some as a gift).

The guest house is 5 mins walk from the main street and parking is widely available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Thank you for your the review.
We are pleased that you found the rooms clean and convenient to the town.
We still make our homemade tablet available to all our guests.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British food.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find new digital televisions, wifi and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I may be somewhat bias as I have a Thai family although I am born and bread white Scotsman.

The owner and her pal were great fun. Well cared for in what is a basic and small hotel.

Good Thai food, decent enough small rooms and an enjoyable stop off prior to heading out to work offshore.

Room Tip: Take places like this for what they are. A small family run hotel and the expectations which would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noggin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British food.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find new digital televisions, wifi and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Really lovely location and great food! At the top end for all, but good value based on the quality.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelizabeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Thank you for your kind review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Visited with a group of 15. Choices are somewhat limited in Lerwick. Walls are thin and we could hear conversation and television in adjacent rooms. Furnishings are minimalistic.

Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choices. Dinner choices are Tai.

Owner was pleasant and helpful, but a bit "edgey".

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 September 2016

Thank you for your review.
The large numbers of oil and gas workers you complained about are now housed at their worksites and our current guests tend to be more courteous of one another.
The television sets are all digital HG and there is free wifi for all our guests.
Many of our guests rave about out breakfast as we offer cold cereal, fresh fruit, fresh rolls, brewed coffee and all sorts of cooked options. Our new chef offers both authentic Thai as well as traditional Scottish and British dishes.
if you were to return today we think you would be pleased to find new furniture, HD TV , free wifi, and memory foam mattresses in all the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
84 reviews
4.8 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
256 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Moorfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Orchy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Orchy Guest House

Address: 20 Knab Road, Lerwick ZE1 0AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Price Range: £86 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Orchy Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Orchy is a converted Edwardian Convent located near Lerwick city centre. We are situated in a quiet neighbourhood with views which overlook the town and both Lerwick and Breiwick Bays. We are across the street from a golf course with coastal walks. We are family owned and operated with a few specially selected staff. We do our very best to make our guests feel welcomed and valued. We want everyone to have a pleasant stay and leave with good memories. We share information about whale sightings and aurora alerts. We try to make the extra effort for our guests because we know they have come great distances to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glen Orchy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Orchy Guest House Hotel Lerwick
Glen Orchy Hotel
Glen Orchy Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing