We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Had lunch here while waiting for the ferry. We really enjoyed chef’s lamb and chickpea curry with homemade flatbread while sitting by the window overlooking the sea. Had an excellent Meinert Pinotage which perfectly accompanied the food. We went on our way replete and very happy having greatly enjoyed an all too brief visit.

(this review is for the hotel restuarant; we didn't stay in the hotel)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to put up a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    48
    19
    16
See reviews for
9
33
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a few weeks for whilst I was working locally. If I was paying the bill, I would have stayed somewhere else. The whole place is badly in need of refurbishment but the price doesn't reflect the surroundings. There's no lift.
Staff are friendly and helpful but the management is a disaster.
Plaster blistered on the stairs, carpets worn, you can hear someone else running a bath throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go to the top floor, the slates on the roof rattle in bad weather and keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately due to the age and the layout of the hotel it is impossible to install a lift on the premises. Refurbishment plans are underway to give the hotel a fresh look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lerwick hotels

steve100consett
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Queens for a number of weeks and found the restaurant and hotel lovely. Staff really friendly and very knowledgable about the area. Especially the main guy in the restaurant ( can't remember his name only his funny ears!!! ) who helped us on a number of occasions. Would recommend highly and would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve100Consett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put on a review. We thank you for your kind comments and are always happy to help. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Went to the Queens Hotel for a meal with a few of my friends I ordered the steak, I couldn't have been happier it was cooked to perfection, homemade chips and onion rings were brilliant. Everyone else that was with me were happy with their meals also.

I will definitely recommend this restaurant to others and will be going back for a meal again, I hear the restaurant is to be getting a revamp looking forward to seeing this too .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Went to the Queens Hotel with my son and daughter for lunch today, have to say it was the best meal we've had in ages, the new chef is certainly turning things round, great menu and huge portions, we couldn't handle it all, we also believe the dining room is going to get a makeover in the next few weeks, what a difference that will make, as it is a bit dated, the food however takes priority and it is a must for anyone living or visiting our beautiful islands, thanks Robert for making our day, we'll be back very soon.....

Room Tip: we only went for the meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twamoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your custom and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

On a recent trip to Shetland I ate at the Queens Hotel on two occassions. The food was delicious with a varied menu to suite all tastes. The dishes were imaginative and creatively put together and presented . Would highly recommend the place.

Its unfortuante that the decor is so dated and tired.........

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCISEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Check back soon to see improvements to the decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The new chef has transformed the dining experience at Queens Hotel and has made me want to return in the very near future. Staff were nice and friendly although the decor let it down. Highly recommend the Scallops and any other of the seafood! Very fresh and full of flavour :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rejy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your comments about the food. I believe that our new Head Chef is a great asset to the company and will continue his improvements. There are plans underway to revamp the restaurant in the near future so keep checking back to see when.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.9 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
17.9 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 24 Commercial Street, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing