We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel - Lerwick
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Inverness
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently at The Grand. It was an ok stay. Room was comfortable, clean and reasonably furnished.
The building itself is full of Character and the hotel is well located for exploring Lerwick.
I went to the public bar for a tasty beverage or two. It was a little dingy but I imagine with a crowd in there it would be fine.
There are a lot of stairs in the hotel and I don.t think there is a lift/elevator.

On this occasion I did not eat in the hotel but colleagues who did said it was OK.

In summary not too much to commend but nothing too much to complain about. Lerwick is limited in hotels and this one seemed similar to others but well located in the centre.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate any comments positive or negative. There is no lift in the building due to its age and also being listed we are limited in what we can do work wise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    26
    15
    25
See reviews for
5
19
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hotel. It is situated in an excellent central location with the views over the harbour towards bressay beautiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard. The food was very good and the prices are excellent value for money. I will be staying here on my next visit to Shetland.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

i stayed in the hotel which i did not find too bad after reading the remarks left by other travellers left on trip advisor... older hotels do tend to offer more character with history and i don't mind stairs nor do i mind having to dial 0 to alert somone to my being at reception... the staff were very friendly and happy to help with my queries and although i did not eat a meal in the restaurant in the evening, i did have breakfast which was served on a hotplate and cooked to my liking... my only complaint which i reported to reception upon leaving was that when i went down for breakfast at 0730, the cleaners entered my room and removed my bath towel and bath mat... not noticing on my return to my room i jumped into the shower and subsequently noticed whilst lathered up that i only had a hand towel on the radiator... funny but not... on leaving i spoke with the cleaners who said they had to clean the rooms first thing... i said that was not my problem...i probably won't stay at the grand again as i was not given any kind of compensation for my trouble... i paid my bill in full

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We do pride ourselves on having our rooms ready on time for the next guest to check in. Unfortunately on this occasion it seems like our housekeeping team were a bit to eager to get the job done for which I apologise. If you had spoken to myself at the point of your checkout we could have arraigned some form of compensation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lerwick hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The place is clean, the staff friendly, and if you are being overnighted there is no room sharing but not a lot more going for it. The location in the centre of Lerwick is a big plus, but saying that being in the centre of Lerwick is no big deal.

Room Tip: stay out of shetland
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmacj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your post. Your post had really nothing to do with the hotel more the fact that you were overnighted in Shetland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

ate in the bar last night, second birthday meal this week due to first being so appalling ( NOT AT THE GRAND). Staff professional helpful and friendly, pleasant starter, orkney blue stuffed mushrooms, made in the kitchen, not tipped out of a freezer bag from tesco,. the Mr had steak and ale pie which he enjoyed, and i had steak which was very good. the salad was fresh, the bar cosy, fireside seat, all in all, a plus. i have also eaten here in the dining room with groups of ten or twelve for lunch and we have all enjoyed the food and the level of service has been fine . than you, the grand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chastity-floozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

My work night out was here. The meal was terrible, the service was slow and very poor, we were overcharged (I think) and they took fifty minutes to come with our bill, though we asked three times for it. Some of the group were forgotten about and wouldn't have been fed if they never re-asked for their meal. The place was not busy so there was no excuse for the lack of service we received. We were a big group (about 15-20 people) spending a lot of money and I would have expected better. The atmosphere was poor, and the building was freezing, so much so, four members of our group kept their jackets on to eat. The food when we eventually got it wasn't even up to standard. Disgusting all round.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank xWackix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately on the night in question the weather was particularly bad and the wind was blowing up the main stairwell. In regards to your food and service if something had been said on the night we may have been able to resolve any issues you had. To however raise the points nearly 2 weeks later on a website does not solve any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Tired and dated. Paint peeling from windows, wallpaper peeling from walls. Friendly enough staff working in difficult conditions. Not much choice of hotels and demand is high.

This place could easily absorb £1m on refurbishments and bringing it up to date, it has so much potential.

Only thing it has going for it is it's location

Room Tip: All much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingin186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. In regard to the decor we have already started with a program of refurbishment starting with the nightclub and entrance way with further works scheduled later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
17.8 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.7 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel - Lerwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel - Lerwick

Property: Grand Hotel - Lerwick
Address: 149 Commercial Street | Shetland Isle, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel - Lerwick 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that major refurbishment work will start in May to improve the appearance of the Hotel and to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel - Lerwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel - Lerwick Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing