We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a very noisy night club at weekends !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel - Lerwick
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Reviewed 30 April 2014

If you ever have the misfortune of staying here over the weekend then dont expect any sleep for two nights !

The reason being the hotel owner uses part of the Hotel for a nightclub at weekends , the banging music, shouting and screaming goes on till the early hours !

When i talked to another guest about the noise on the Sat morning the reply was " oh that will be Posers you were hearing " i said is it on again tonite and the reply " yip all night and saturday nights are even worse " i could'nt believe it when she told me that the hotel owner owns the nightclub built onto the hotel ,

He also apparently owns the company that supplies all the drink so would'nt dream of closing the night club as it rakes in a tidy profit !

Come on show some respect for people and decide what you are doing Hotel or Nightlife , NOT BOTH ! Greed Over Care !

Room Tip: Just dont go near it on a Friday or Saturday night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JLOT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. When your booking was made the person making the booking would have been made aware of the nightclub on the premises as is standard practice with all our weekend bookings made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place is a dump. No guest lounge, shower did not work, beds like stone, window would not open. Has to be about the worst hotel stay ever. The staff were pleasant and the food reasonable but other than that a one star flea pit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieLloyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. Whilst every care is taken to make your stay enjoyable we cannot please everybody. If you had mentioned the problems you experienced to a member of our team we may have been able to rectify the situation. We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment program at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a birthday lunch today, we had lunch in the bar. It was the biggest tastiest burger I have EVER eaten!! Reasonably price & large platefuls & lovely staff. No complaints at all. If anything there was too much food on our plates lol salad, lovely creamy coleslaw, nice crispy chips and our delightful burgers, cheese and bacon ...... Delicious!!! Look forward to my next visit :-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Toenailrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here in November last year before staying at the Queens the second time and this was an equally brilliant stay. Again the staff were very welcoming and the hotel was lovley and warm very homely. The food was first class and this was right in the center of town which was great for getting around. Anyone going to Shetland The Grand is a must stay or even just for eating out great value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Apart from the really nice staff The Grand Hotel dose not live up to its name, from it's worn out carpets to the drafts (& I used draft in the kindest way) coming in the window the Grand is well past it's sell by date. It's time someone took it off the shelf and put it in the trash. You may have a selection of rooms in the grand each coming with its own little bonus and all sharing the same problem. Let's start with the problem "the WIFI" or in the Grands case the lack of. I know I'm not the first person to bring it up & I'm sure I won't be the last but come on people it's 2014, WIFI is a must. If your wifi supplier can not provide a service that reaches all areas of the hotel THEN SACK HIM/HER. It's an old hotel so stone walls, solution ... Hard wire from the modem to wireless routers giving better signal. Take the repeaters out of the plastic boxes and mount them on the ceiling.. Ok.. The food, the mood of the chef will determine the quality of food this is more obvious in the mornings but in general the food is good. Now back to the free bonus' you get with the rooms, if you are in the back you get the hear the clock chiming every 15 mins night & day, if you are on the top floor the water pressure in the shower is shocking . If you are near the night club kiss going to sleep for the weekend goodbye. If you are over the bar you can hear everything going on below and if you are out the front you get all the street noise but on the weekend this noise can be ongoing until after 04:00hrs. So to sum it all up... The front line staff are awesome, the food is ok and after that ........ Disaster....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Glickeen_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments with regards to the Hotel. Please note that refurbishment will start in May. This is to include the public bar and the carpets. With regards to the noise unfortunately these points are out-with our control. The council controls the clock. The noise from the street is due to being a town centre hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

its a long time since this place was anything like grand.
with accomodation on shetland straining to meet demand some places seem to feel they shouldn't bother as the business will come anyway. this seems to be the way with the grand hotel.

i have never met a less helpful hotel manager. the company i was working with were putting a lot of business to this hotel and its sister hotel the queens, so i expected a complaint to be properly dealt with.
i complained and got to speak to the manager about my inability to get a shower before work
(almost no water pressure and barely a dribble out of the shower). he actually acknowledged that there was a problem with it but when i suggested that guests be advised of this he seemed disinterested and said that "not everyone likes to have a shower"! i told him he was ignoring the issue, which he was. a complete lack of customer care in my book.

take your business elsewhere if you can. rest assured the rest of the staff had a very nice and helpful manner. the menu read well but due to the hours i was working i was unable to eat either breakfast or an evening meal.

Room Tip: go elsewhere. if you have to stay there, stay at the front to avoid the clock chimes or the back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. If you are going to quote my conversation with you with regards to the water pressure please could you report the entire conversation and not the bits to make it sound like we do not care. Your comments with regards to the shower pressure have been noted and we are currently working on a solution to the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Went here for lunch to prepare myself for the UHA festival. They had a set menu for the day. Chose the reestit soup as was a local hit. Pretty good, mind you be warned, it is quite salty. That's just the way the dish is made. Fab!!!
Then had the carvery for my main. Wow!! Well done guys. The beef that I opted for was done perfectly, accompanied with usual trimmings. YUUUUUUUMMMMMM!!

Service was casual because I opted for the less formal bar area, so did not expect more. There is a more formal restaurant area if you are looking for that kind of vibe.

Overall!!! Nice. Cheers guys :))

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatribs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
331 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Moorfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel - Lerwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel - Lerwick

Address: 149 Commercial Street | Shetland Isle, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel - Lerwick 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that major refurbishment work will start in May to improve the appearance of the Hotel and to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel - Lerwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel - Lerwick Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing