We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting experience, warm welcome”
Review of Croft House Museum

Croft House Museum
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Lerwick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Felsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“interesting experience, warm welcome”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

On our first day of our two-week holiday in Shetland we visited the Croft House Museum. The gentleman in charge told us about the croft house, about life in a such a place till the 1960s, and he then even had a lot of other information for us, like other places to visit that he recommended or even where to get the best fish and chips in Shetland! We felt very welcome and would have loved to just sit down with him, have a cup of tea and chat about former times! Unfortunately we had to travel on, to get to our accomodation in time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfershausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great way to see how Shetlanders used to live”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely little croft house and a fine example of how Shetlanders used to live. It's laid out exactly how it used to be with all the household items they used to use (and sometimes still do). The smell of the peat fire really takes you back to the old times. I can't believe a whole family used to live in that tiny room and share a bed. It's well worth a visit or two!
WARNING - doorways are very low so be careful not to bang your head.....it hurts!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit to see a croft as it was”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely museum which gives a good snapshot of live as a crofter. The volunteers were very knowledgable and able to answer all of our questions

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aligirlbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming peat fire”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A cold wet day, gorgeous peat fire and a custodian to tell all about a crofters very hard life. Magic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hands on experience to the past”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tucked away from the main road with a pathway to the door, this beautifully maintained croft house is like stepping into another time. Feel the warmth from the peat fire in the ben end as you walk through the door, experience the conditions that the crofter and his family lived through and soak up the atmosphere of a bygone age. This doesn't feel like a museum, but a visit to a working croft whose occupants are due to return at any minute.
The curator was very knowledgeable and friendly and don't forget to visit the water mill a short walk across the field. If you want a hands on experience more so than looking at a collections of objects in a cabinet, this is the place for you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RFNeilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Croft House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Croft House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing