We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Ground Floor Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Living room
Kitchen
Levenwick Beach
Fully tiled bathroom
Shetland Soap Company toiletries
Mousa Broch
Lerwick town centre, rooftop view from apartment
Mousa
Linen and toiletries are provided
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaryLScot...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Ground Floor Apartment”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I've stayed in the Upper Floor Apartment, which was lovely, and have now also stayed in the newly refurbished Ground Floor Apartment. It too is just lovely. Carina, the owner, left a welcoming pack (milk, bread, breakfast cereal, coffee etc) so there's no need to do a shop before arriving and things like washing powder, dishwasher tablets are also available, which is really thoughtful. The accommodation is similar to the Upper Apartment; all new and spic and span furniture and white goods, with absolutely everything you need. Special review for the shower (and the shower in the Upper Apartment too) - both excellent! Carina was very welcoming, but then let me get on with things myself, which I appreciated. I've already booked in another stay, which says it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you Mary for your lovely review! It was lovely to finally meet you. Glad you like the new apartment, it is great to get feedback, always looking for ways to improve things. See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring mainland Shetland.”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful apartment. Only one caveat, the second "bathroom" has a sink and shower, but no toilet. Catrina was great and made our arrival and departure easy.
Shetland was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you Michael for you kind words. The second toilet was on our plans, but due to difficulties with the plumbing, we were unable to install one much to our disappointment. Lovely to meet you all and enjoy your travels
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJC1
glasgow, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Thanks Carina”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have recently returned from a trip to Shetland and Orkney. We stayed at the Fort Charlotte self catering apartment for 3 nights. It really is a very nice apartment, it is situated right next to Fort Charlotte, in fact the only way it could be closer is if it was inside! It is very handy for the town centre, and every amenity, all the shops are literally round the corner and almost all restaurants are within a 5/10 min walk. It is on the street above the harbour so only a very short walk. The bus station is a 5 min walk away, the Shetland museum is about a 10 min. walk. Parking can be had on the Main street about 100 yards from Charlotte St.

The flat is on the 2nd storey above the fort Charlotte Guest house. It is very clean and comfortable, exactly as described. There are 3 good sized bedrooms, 2 doubles and a twin, with comfortable beds and sufficient storage. The living/dining area is excellent with everything you could require, a fridge, washing machine, kettle etc. more than sufficient crockery and cutlery, glasses etc. The living area has 2 very comfortable settees and a good size flat screen TV. The bathroom is excellent, very modern and stylish, with a good shower and a full size bath. One of the double bedrooms has a shower room, no toilet in it unfortunately, but very nice. There were plenty of towels and soap, plus loo roll etc. Lots of hot water and heating if required.

Carina had very kindly arranged to be at the flat for us arriving, we were coming in on the 7.15pm flight, but as there were no taxis at the airport and no bus, it took us a little while to arrange a pick up. The taxi cost is £50. We had arranged for a delivery of basic food stuff from Tesco which was to be delivered between 7 and 9pm and Carina very kindly made sure she was there for delivery and put everything away for us. She waited for us to give us a quick tour of the flat and hand over the keys. She also allowed us to store our luggage on the day we were leaving as we had hired a car and were touring for the day and didn't want to take all our luggage with us.

The only caveat about the flat are the stairs, as I said it is on the second floor and has a steep metal spiral staircase leading up to it, so anybody with mobility issues might have a problem, one of my family members has a slight mobility issue, but she managed, however anyone with a serious problem or in a wheelchair would not manage. That aside we enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend the Fort Charlotte self catering apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable with excellent amenities
Liked least: the metal spiral staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave you lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay, Carina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S
1 review
“Perfect base for Shetland visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our family of 5 adults visited Shetland last month and greatly enjoyed our 4 night stay at Fort Charlotte - we didn't want to leave! The handy location is in the middle of town, the apartment was clean and warm (apartment photos are accurate), and everything you might need (new linens, toiletries, cooking utensils and condiments, welcome basket, etc) was thoughtfully provided. Carina was a wonderful host and a huge help throughout our stay. Yes there is only one toilet but there are two sinks and two showers, easy enough to work out a bathroom schedule for 5-6 people. And yes there is an external staircase but we managed to get ourselves and all our luggage up and down without much fuss - plus it was good training for all the walking we ended up doing around Shetland. Thanks so much Carina, we'll definitely be back next time we're in Shetland (hopefully soon!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating in the bathroom.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you Natalie for taking the time to leave a review. You were the perfect guests, I don't think you could have packed much more into your stay in Shetland, so well done. Hope you have arrived home safely and would love to have your lovely family to stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb apartment - we had a wonderful week”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ideally located for the harbour and the shops. Very well furnished with absolutely everything we could need. Carina was a delight to deal with and was on hand when necessary. This made our first visit to the Shetlands very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you Shona and family for reviewing the apartment. You were a delight to have staying and would welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolUK...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great apartment in an ideal location”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family of 4 stayed here for a week and would happily recommend this apartment to anyone - so long as they are mobile enough to navigate the long external staircase to access the property.
The apartment totally lived up to everyone else's rave reviews and exceeded our expectations. It was spotlessly clean, very well equipped, extremely comfortable, had all modcons, warm, airy, bright and stylishly decorated - plus it had lovely window seats giving birds eye views of the virtually adjacent harbour. Great central location with everything in Lerwick within walking distance.
The owner was away while we were staying but could not have been more helpful or thoughtful via email - and her mother meanwhile made us very welcome. There was a useful welcome pack to get us started which was much appreciated. In addition, the kitchen store cupboards were well stocked and we were encouraged to use anything we wanted.
This apartment is a hidden gem in the heart of Lerwick and I highly recommend it as a base for exploring the islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and hope to see you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
2 reviews
“Wonderful place and flat !”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in June 2014

This flat is the greatest I had during my 4 stays in Shetland ! Very spacious, very clean, elegantly furnished, very calm and well placed next to Commercial street,.. all absolutely great. And the best : the kindness of Carina, the owner, who welcomed us with a basket full of cakes and delicious food !... (sorry for my bad english : I'm french...).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Glad you liked the apartment and had a great time while in Shetland. PS your English is perfect
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing