We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we hope to come back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Charlotte Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Lerwick B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we hope to come back”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This b&b has the perfect location for a stay in Lerwick - very central. Our room was nice and clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. But the very best thing about it all were our hosts Jim and Lynne, whose friendliness and hospitality made us enjoy our fantastic holiday even more.
Eva and Peter, Antwerp, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_5793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
58
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Convenient location in town but quiet and very comfortable. Excellent breakfasts, great, big room, clean and well appointed. Hosts Lynne and Jim friendly and helpful. This is a great base for exploring Lerwick and all the main island.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaBellaCCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lynne and Jim Manson owners of this wonderful comfortable b and b could show many others how its done properly. Beautifully appointed rooms and lovely big shower room with heating on if needed even in June!
Your own Sony tv and tea and coffee in room made this a superb place to base ourselves for 10 days in Shetland. Right in the main historic street of Lerwick, it was surprisingly quiet at night, and very handy for shops and good restaurants in Shetlands capital. The hosts are local and know all the ins and outs of Shetland life and travel, so were great sorces of information. The breakfast was just superb - Shetland smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - heaven!! Quality teas and coffee, huge selection of other breakfast foods and real fresh fruit salad. Well done Lynne and Jim (ps try Jims fantastic Fort Cafe near by, for the best fish and chips this side of the equator) Elizabeth and Derek Wilson June 20-30 2013

Room Tip: family room on the first floor had lovely windows and one looking down main street. Plenty room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Lynne and Jim made us feel 'at home' and were very helpful with their local information and connections. Their flexible approach and hospitality enabled us to use Lerwick as a base for our explorations along the length and breadth of the Shetland Isles. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_leventon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Fort Charlotte guest house is located above a shop in the main shopping street in Lerwick, but this is not a problem, we stayed for three night and found it to be very quiet and peaceful.

The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped, the bed in our room however was very soft. Many will find this fine for them, but for us we prefer a firmer bed; that is not a criticism just telling it as we found it. It was nice to have wifi available and working well. Our room also had the usual tea and coffee making facilities.

Our breakfasts were really superb, both in quality and quantity with everything freshly cooked to order. The fresh fruit salad on offer each day was delicious with a good selection of yogurts.

All in all this is a super place to stay whilst in Shetland and is excellent value for money. Our hosts were very nice, friendly and full of relevant information about the Shetlands, nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granvin, Hordaland, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Two ladies from Norway arrived wednesday afternoon. We were first met by Jim, who let us in and showed us our rooms, later we met Lynne as well! Such happy faces and good service!! We'll recommend them to anyone who'll listen to us! In the mornings we received a very well cooked breakfast - so we lasted a long time each day before we had to "fill up" again!
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Jim and Lynne deserve the great reviews that they have been receiving on TripAdvisor.

Four of us took two rooms in this B&B which is in a great location in the centre of Lerwick - staggering distance from most of the venues that were putting on concerts as part of the wonderful Shetland Folk Festival. The B&B is located just off of Commercial Street, the front door being on a steep Brae - if you are driving then you are better to park on Commercial Street (there's a large parking area and no traffic wardens) as it's pretty tight on the hill.

The rooms are well presented and spacious as well as clean and bright. We were on the top floor which was nice as it was fairly quiet. We did hear some revelry from the street on Saturday night but it was the Folk Festival after all!

Breakfast is great - a good selection, and hearty enough to keep you warm even in a Shetland Spring!

Jim and Lynne are really lovely - it's clear that they really enjoy meeting guests. I had cocked up our booking by forgetting that we had one night on the ferry therefore would be arriving a day later than I'd booked and she only charged me a reduced cancellation fee rather than the full whack which we were due.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Top floor is likely to get less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
St. Magnus Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hillswick
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eddlewood Guest House
Eddlewood Guest House
#6 of 12 in Lerwick
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Charlotte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Charlotte Guest House

Property: Fort Charlotte Guest House
Address: 1 Charlotte Street | South Mainland, Lerwick ZE1 0JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lerwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Charlotte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Fort Charlotte Guest House Hotel Lerwick
Fort Charlotte Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing