We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* in every way.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alder Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Lerwick B&B and Inns
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“5* in every way.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Alder Lodge Guest House has to be one of the best in the UK. The hosts Karen & Keith make you feel really welcome from when you first arrive until your departure. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the shower room/toilet equally so. Very comfortable beds. Definitely the best choice and variety of breakfast that you will find anywhere. For the price paid (£35 each for a twin room per night), don't even consider looking elsewhere. One word of warning, although the Alder Lodge is only a 5 minute walk from the town centre, if you are arriving by ferry to Lerwick, it is 1.6 miles to the guest house from the ferry terminal, so hire a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldosda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
34
30
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a very comfortable stay, friendly excellent hosts and would have to say best cooked breakfast we have ever had in a B&B- quality ingredient a, beautifully cooked! The guesthouse is very centrally located for the town but our room at the back was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We came to Alder Lodge when our booking elsewhere fell through. That was our good fortune. Agree with everything that Linre, Ken H and Morag MM have said. We were accommodated in a self catering annex but with the excellent GH breakfasts. Our hosts were the wealth of local knowledge that makes staying in small establishment so worth while.

Room Tip: The self catering rooms if available give you the option of preparing a picnic or cooking in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We came here when our trip to Fair Isle was delayed by bad weather and Karen and Keith made us most welcome. The room was large and comfortable and very quiet.There was lots of choice for breakfast, various cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and then a huge cooked selection as well. We returned here after making the Fair Isle trip to a different room which was just as large, quiet and comfortable and we felt very at home.Great hosts with a highly recommended business in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had never been to Shetland before and selected this Guest House from previous reviews but I am so glad I did. It is close to the centre of town but still very quiet. The room we were in was very well thought out to accommodate everything you would need on a trip, including a seating area. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hosts were very helpful at making suggestions on where to visit. The breakfast was also one of the best I have had even compared to top hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: We were on the very top floor and it was still a spacious twin room with 2 velux windows which had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I booked this for my work colleagues and they were delighted with all aspects of there stay! In fact have been told to ensure when they visit Lerwick again that i book Alder Lodge over the bigger hotels near the harbour. Breakfast was fantastic, rooms very spacious and no noise from other rooms. All in all a brilliant stay and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here for one night (booked two but then stayed at a friends for a night). I was in the small single room (number 5) on the second floor. The room itself was very clean and well laid out, the bed comfortable and well sound insulated from both inside and outside noise. The only thing I would add would be a black-out blind for the summer and to block out the street light but this is mainly personal preference as I am used to a very dark room.
I was met by the owner when I arrived who explained how things are laid out and showed me where my bathroom was as the room was not en-suite. The bathroom was down the hallway a short distance and was very big with a full size bath, shower and sink, bidet and sink. It also had toiletries provided.
Breakfast was chosen from a very large menu, plus 8-9 cereal choices, fresh juice and tea/coffee.
I got a sneaky peek into a couple of the other rooms as people had checked out and the doors left open by the cleaner. The other rooms were all large and decorated to the same high standard that my room was.
It was very good and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.2 mi away
Glen Orchy Guest House
Glen Orchy Guest House
#4 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.7 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Decca - Self Catering Shetland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Lodge Guest House

Property: Alder Lodge Guest House
Address: 6 Clairmont Place, Lerwick ZE1 0BR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lerwick
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alder Lodge Guest House Hotel Lerwick
Alder Lodge Guest House Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing