We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great improvement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Muirs Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Muirs Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great improvement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My wife and son had all been curling, we were hungry and popped into The Muirs for some supper.
What a pleasant surprise, very friendly hostess, fantastic beer (having had some badly presented Ossian in the curling bar at the Green Hotel - Ken Duncan would not be impressed !!!!) and Scampi to die for - the crispiest that I have ever tasted.
We were here about 8 years ago when a different owner ran the place (not impressed, which was why we had not returned) - with these new people we will be back and have already recomended the place to 3 of our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlasdairMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    55
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
72
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are visiting Kinross and are looking for a place to eat, I can highly recommend this hotel.
Good choice on the Menu, excellent service and reasonable prices for food and drinks. Perhaps wise to book at the weekend because it can be busy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

A great evening ina relaxed atmosphere where we were served by very attentive staff who were well informed of local sourced ingredients which made up a great choice of dishes on a lovely menu, good size portions value for money. Definately go again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CannieQuine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Had a lovely meal here with a friend, beautiful food ,well cooked and presented and great choice on the menu,waitress was very polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her or the chef,would state this is one of the best places to eat in Kinross and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

having read good reviews of this restaurant we decided to pay it a visit for an evening meal..... the menu was unimaginative to say the least.... the usual selection of fish and chips scampi and chips steaks macaroni and cheese chicken balmoral burgers etc...... as i do a lot of homecooking i didnt want steak pie macaroni scampi etc as im quite capable of making this at home..... i therefore opted for the burger with cheese which i paid 50P extra for ..... on its arrival the cheese had been toasted onto the top of the bun..... the burger fell apart when u cut into it as there was nothing to bind it together..... the chips were poor quality frozen chips..... totally unacceptable..... the restaurant was anything but warm and i shivered through what i managed to eat of the meal..... i will certainly not be back there

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert R, Owner at The Muirs Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
It is disappointing you did not highlight your concerns on the day, as prompt action would have rectified your concerns.

Our menu is based on traditional pub food, with ingredients sourced locally. We also have an extensive specials board to compliment our range of meals.

The Muirs Inn will continue to strive to produce quality food, a friendly welcome, great service and an enjoyable experience. Our reviews consistently comment on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed in Kinross for two nights and struggled to find somewhere to eat. We found previous reviews of The Muirs Inn and decided to go for it.
It was a very quiet evening so we had no problem getting a table in the restaurant. The waitress was very friendly and welcoming and there was a good choice of items on the menu.
We were very happy with our starters and thoroughly enjoyed them. For our main I had read about the steak pie so chose that. It was very tasty although a little dry and on the cool side which let it down a little.
All in all the food was nice, the welcome excellent and we would probably return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Spent the last month staying in Kinross and hadn't eaten here till last night. In my opinion it beats the other eateries for quality of food. Not regular pub fair but restuarant Quality preperation & presentation.2nd time in and food excellent . Will be hard to go anywhere else in Kinross now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jgbclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.8 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muirs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muirs Inn

Property: The Muirs Inn
Address: 49 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Muirs Hotel Kinross
The Muirs Inn Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing