We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference!”
Review of The Muirs Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Muirs Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hearing that there are new owners at The Muirs I decided to try it out for a business lunch. We had a very friendly welcome and enjoyed a nice lunch. It is a nice traditional style Inn with a seperate bar and restaurant. The food was tasty and of good quality and reasonably priced. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Visited The Muirs Inn on Saturday 1st Feb 2014, it was a 630pm sitting as they prefer (quite rightly) to have families with young children in early, the food, service and atmosphere were excellent and without doubt we will return, nice to have some professional service.........

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Upstandingscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Under new management we gave the restaurant a try for an early tea having decided against our usual favourite of The Kirklands. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised! Lovely restaurant, good menu and attentive staff.

We will definitely return. Fantastic to see somewhere new in town taking the time to prepare good menus and tasty food at reasonable prices. A good second to Kirklands and certainly a better standard on the food served at The Green Hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Valefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Muirs Inn have been recently taken over by Lynn & Willie McCord. I was awaiting The Muirs to reopen as it's a drop in spot travelling from office to Glasgow on the weekends. Not knowing how it was going to be was somewhat daunting, managed to park on the side of the street beside it, note there is limited parking spaces (but don't let that put you off)

Went into the bar intially to have a little poke around, nice warm atmosphere, a real log fire, something which is quite a rarity nowadays, there's everything you need in the bar, TV, Jukebox, Pool Table.

There is a nice patio area outside, which I'm sure will look and be nice to sit in during Summer months, not so much in a very cold January!!!

Went into the restaurant for lunch and was greeted by Lynn. Such a nice warm welcome, which makes a change from most of the chain hotels in the surrounding area. We sat down for lunch, had a trio of mini burgers between us, 1 Venison, 1 Pork, 1 Beef. Nice as a starter for 1 or 2 depending on how hungry you are.

Main course for me was the Chicken Supreme with Herb & Garlic mousse, chicken was cooked to perfection. My partner has Beef & Haggis Olives, they certainly looked "beefy" nice big and plump. Couple of sides of fries each which was just as nice.

After paying the bill, Lynn asked if we would like a tour, forgot The Muirs had rooms!

Lynn gave us a tour of The Muirs, including the rooms, which were very spacious and well decorated, especially being above a pub. Extremely surprised. Word to note, the stairs leading up to the rooms are a bit steep.

Overall very impressed with the new owners and new staff, food was good. Excellent for a meal/drink or stay over.

Please note - This has only recently been taken over by new owners (start of December I am led to believe) I would disregard other reviews before this point.

Will Return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not having been to the Muirs for years and looking in with our visitors for lunch, what a pleasant surprise! Were directed to restaurant,after going into bar,by a pleasant young lady. Meeted and seated by another friendly professional member of staff. Food ordered was enjoyed by all. One burger, then Haddock three ways, one breaded, one battered and one with potato and a poached egg. Well presented and obviously fresh fish. The chips were good too.Will definitely return possibly for dinner. Maybe Haddock three ways could be on a dinner menu!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stopped here for lunch by chance what a brill find. For starters I had goat cheese and caramaliesed onion tart my friends had stornaway blackpudding with poach egg for the main I had fish and chips and my husband had steak pie both where very good. Will be back for def.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a real treat for all of Kinross to have Willie take over the excellent Muirs Inn. Great staff and new menu. Had an enjoyable lunch, served by the lovely Emma over Christmas. Fabulous menu with first class chef at the helm. This outstanding establishment can only go from strength to strength. Will be back very soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinross hotels
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Roxburghe Guest House
#9 of 10 in Kinross
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Muirs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Muirs Inn

Address: 49 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Muirs Hotel Kinross
The Muirs Inn Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing