We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Balgedie family reunion”
other travellers have booked this property
Balgedie House with the Lomond Hills behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balgedie House with the Lomond Hills behind
Looking across the gardens to Loch Leven There is a 5 ring gas hob, a wall mounted electric oven, 2 dishwashers & many other mod cons.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Balgedie House with the Lomond Hills behind
Looking across the gardens to Loch Leven
There is a 5 ring gas hob, a wall mounted electric oven, 2 dishwashers & many other mod cons.
A view from Balgedie House to Loch Leven
The kitchen with large oak dining table & kitchen island
The table can seat 12 comfortably and can be extended to seat 16
There is a lovely log burning stove in the kitchen.
The sitting room has wonderful views out to the Loch
There is a large wood burning stove & large sofas to relax in.
The quiet study with a beautiful antique desk and free wifi.
The downstairs loo!
The master bedroom with an ensuite, walk in wardrobe & a window looking out towards the Loch.
All the beds are made by Hypnos, the same company who supplies the Queen!
The second main bedroom also with exceptional views of the Loch & an ensuite.
Superking luxury bed and bedding
Another superking double bed.
A twin bedroom
A twin bedroom
A twin bedroom
The master ensuite with walkin shower, double vanity unit and roll top bath.
The shower room
The family bathroom
Another ensuite bathroom
Looking up to the House from the garden
A view of the back of the house from the garden
Looking south east over the garden towards the Loch
From the front door of the house looking over the garden, towards the Loch
The back garden gate that leads to the farm track and up to the hills
From the farm track leading towards Loch Leven, looking back to the House
The front door!
The back garden, with the hedged 'secret garden' - perfect for children to play in and explore!
Burleigh Sands is a lovely beach on the Loch, just 5 mins away. Perfect for paddling & sand castles!
Kinnesswood, our local village, won Keep Scotland Beautiful's best small village award many times.
The area is great for outdoor pursuit lovers -
there's walking, cycling, golf, gliders & fishing.
The sunsets and sunrises over the Loch are spectacular. This was a taken on an evening in November.
The bird life is wonderful. Much can be seen in the garden & RSPB Vane Farm is only 5 mins away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Kinross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joschlich
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Balgedie family reunion”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had an amazing time staying at Balgedie House and Lodge. My husband's entire family of 17 gathered together from Scotland, Surrey, Brussels and NZ in a truely stunning location and in the comforts of an amazing house. The house and lodge are beautifully decorated. The kitchen so large it could seat us all for family meals, a playroom for the kids with a huge tv screen and Wii, a cosy, comfortable sitting room for the adults to relax in front of an open fire and all with the most amazing views of Loch Leven and the surrounding countryside. There is also so much to do!! In our 3 days we walked down to the loch from the house, visited Loch Leven Island, Falklands Palace, and did a lovely hill walk with a waterfall from Falkland. All family members enjoyed themselves immensely and there was a lot of talk about when we would stay again!!! Thank you Shona for such and enjoyable and memorable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Jo, I am so pleased you all had such a great time and thank you so much for writing such a lovely a review. As well as enjoying the House and garden, I'm so thrilled you managed to explore the area around and about too! I'm very pleased to hear we may have you all back again one day too! Keep us posted, we'd love to welcome you all again! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful house, just perfect for a relaxing few days.”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The differing requirements of our group of 5 grandparents, 4 parents, 3 boys and a baby were all catered for perfectly in this beautiful house. Immaculately clean and cared for by Mary, the friendly housekeeper, and superbly decorated and furnished by the owners,Shona and Charlie, this house and garden was everything we could have wished for, and more! Plenty of space for everyone, stunning views, easily accessible from the motorway. Kitchen (with TWO dishwashers - bliss!) had plenty dishes and every possible kitchen utensil/gadget we needed to self cater. Next to this was a dining table where we spent many hours sitting around catching up with each other and just relaxing. Bedrooms and bathrooms were similarly ideal - spacious and sumptious. 5 and 8 yr old grandsons loved the trampoline and rope swings in the garden. The continually changing stunning views of the loch were simply mesmerising. What more can I say? 5 stars for sure, would happily give more. We hope to return soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
I am so pleased you had such a great stay with us at Balgedie House. There is nothing better than receiving such warm and wonderful feedback from our guests. Thank you so much for choosing the House as the venue for your special weekend. I hope there may be occasion for another sometime soon as we'd love to welcome you all back again! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amymac25
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and very spacious house with spectacular views - pet friendly!”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Absolutely loved everything about Balgedie House! Extremely spacious and beautiful house that very comfortably sleeps 12 (plenty of space to accommodate additional people round the dinner table etc if you were to take the cottage also). I particularly liked how well equipped the kitchen was with everything you could possibly need. The garden and views are spectacular and it was great to be able to take our dog! Shona that runs the bookings and Mary the housekeeper were both so helpful and the chocolates and bubbly on our arrival was a lovely touch. If you are taking a dog, the Boat House at Loch Leven is very dog friendly! Can't wait to book another trip to Balgedie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Dear Amy, thank you so much for such a wonderful and generous review! I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Balgedie - and your dog did too! Please keep in touch as we'd love to welcome you all back again. Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous house in a great location for a group get together”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented Balgedie House between Thursday 21st September and Tuesday 26th September 2017 for a family get together to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. We were met by the housekeeper, Mary, who showed around the accommodation which had been set out to suit 8 adults and 7 grandchildren aged between 2 year and 10 as we had previously requested. We found the house perfect from the well equipped kitchen to the sumptuous bedrooms and public rooms. The play/family room was a big hit and was well stocked with a variety of games to suit all ages. The expansive grounds were terrific and provided the children with a safe area in which to explore and play; so much so that we did not feel the need to visit the nearby Loch Leven Larder or the many walks around and near Loch Leven itself. We cannot praise Shona and Charlie enough for their idea in providing such a lovely self catering establishment which, in our opinion, was far better than a hotel. We are so glad that we found Balgedie House and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a group or family get together. We will certainly be considering Balgedie for future milestone family occasions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you, Julie, for such an incredibly lovely review! I am so thrilled you all had such a great time, inside and out! And to hear that you thought it was better than a hotel is wonderful! Thank you for coming and please do come back again as we'd love to have you! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jondarwen
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We rented Balgedie House for my mother in laws 60th birthday celebrations and the place was a delight. Large and roomy so we didn't all feel on top of each other, and tastefully modernised to keep the character of the house but with modern styling. All in all, highly recommended if you're looking for a getaway retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
I'm so pleased to hear the House worked so well for the big family birthday celebration and get together and that you all had a great time. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Much appreciated. We do hope you'll all come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5* Luxury accommodation in beautiful Scottish setting!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is beautifully decorated and brilliantly set out for a big family gathering. Everything newly fitted so works and very clean. Beds extremely comfortable, super king double in our room - I am very hard to please and I slept very well. Aside from this being a beautiful house to be inside, the views are truly spectacular. I grew up in Scotland so quite hard to please in this department as well and I found myself transfixed by the changing light and views over the course of the day. A very special place and we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for such a great review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and loved the views so much! We would love to have you all back again - just let us know when! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We took a family vacation to Balgedie House at the end of May this year. We LOVED it! Everything is wonderful--the house itself is old and stately, but it has been completely modernized inside and the decorating/decor is cozy and beautiful. Mary, the housekeeper, met us and showed us around. She couldn't have been more welcoming. She had the baby cot already set up for us, along with a changing mat and a baby tub. To complete the hospitality, there was a goodie basket full of essential baby items as well as some wine and a food goodie basket for the adults. We certainly felt welcomed and cared for! The house itself is perfect for a large group or multiple families. For a few days, it was just the two of us and our baby. Then we had the grandparents and brother with his family of four arrive as well as some friends. Everyone had plenty of space and no one was on top of each other. The kitchen is fully stocked with plenty of utensils and cutlery/plates,etc. It's very spacious with a large table that fit everyone and there are two dishwashers, which is awesome for large groups. There's a slow cooker and a food blender, so I could even make my own baby food for the week. There's a TV room and another living room, as well as a small study, so there were plenty of places to hang out or escape/work in as necessary. The grounds are beautiful and the view of Loch Leven and the surrounding countryside is amazing. We highly recommend Balgedie House--you will not be disappointed! We've already been in touch to book for next year. Also--the owner, Shona, was very accessible and checked on us via e-mail throughout our stay to make sure we had everything we needed and was very helpful with suggestions on things to do/see.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Alice, I'm so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and all worked out so well for everyone - big and small! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fabulous review! It was lovely to have you and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back next year! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;