We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Grouse and Claret

Grouse and Claret
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for dinner somewhere different within easy reach of edinburgh then go the the grouse and claret at junction 6 on the m90. We went there last week for dinner with an American friend who was firstly wowed by the environment and scenery and then more wowed by the different and homely decor inside. Our table overlooked the trout lake. From the start the welcome was wonderful, the staff very friendly and efficient. The food was wonderful with an Asian influence - Scottish creole perhaps, but original and different dishes. Everything we had was superb, don't forget to try the twice baked cheese soufflé, and the portions are very generous. Full marks.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunkyunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    34
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a combination...”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wifie and I were taken by a friend; we'd never been before. First impression was of the area- next to a trout fishery, with great views over the loch, and a lovely, well-cared for garden surround. The restaurant is in an old house, with great character and ambience, with a very comfortable seating area for pre-grub drinks. Service was attentive and quick.

We had a table overlooking the water; it was a lovely, sunny day, which really helped the view, but it would have been pretty good anyway. Our meals were all chosen differently, so we were able to compare our dishes with each other. No-one was disappointed. Food was good, and plenty of it. The young lassies looking after us were always around, but unobtrusively. And there's an adequate wine list at reasonable prices - the food is very reasonably priced, too.

It was generally, a very pleasant visit; we will go again, and not fear to recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful birthday celebration”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

my birthday happened to coincide with the monthly Oriental Banquet at the Grouse and Claret, and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better to celebrate. The setting is lovely, the staff warm and welcoming, and the meal was magnificent: each dish tastier than the one before. It was great not having to make any choices: the food just appeared in front of us and everyone enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view , lovely food and surroundings”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went for lunch with friends who had been there previously and enjoyed it.
Set in stunning surroundings by a fish lake.
There is a well stocked bar area with comfortable sofas just off the dining room which has a good view of the lake and surrounding hills.
The staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful.
The menu is fairly limited but has enough selection to suit most tastes.
The food was excellent and reasonably priced for the quality.
Being privately owned the husband and wife team ensure that you have a first class dining experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wee gem ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I have just spent one of the most relaxing evenings at this gem of a restaurant both the food and service were exceptional not forgetting the view...... WOW. Don't miss out.... if you are in the Kinross area of Scotland well worth a visit and reasonably priced too. One very satisfied lady.

Helpful?
Thank AnnetteMcArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grouse and Claret also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing