We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day”
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
fife
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spa day”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Went to the Windelstrae for a Spa day. I was looking forward to getting my robe on a wandering about, going for a swim, a few treatments, sport of lunch, more swimming etc. Sadly this is not possible.

However, the swimming pool is lovely as is the jacuzzi. The steam room and sauna could be doing with a re vamp.

lunch was lovely as was the treatments.

would go back

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fionafaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    219
    108
    43
    32
See reviews for
84
253
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very Nice Hotel very friendly staff from setting foot in the door I was met with a very smilly Receptionist. Room very comfy looked like it had just had an overhaul.
Good food although a bit on the expencive side but very nice with good restaurant staff
I had to stay at this hotel due to my usual one putting there room rates up and having stayed with them for over 3 years were not prepared to to offer anything so there loss and this hotels gain as I will be staying with them next time I am in the area.

The only down side I could find was when eating in the restaurant the cutlery at my table was still dirty not polished had water marks on it but the food excellant very good Scotish breakfast although buffet style very hot and nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Nice hotel. Fabulous bar staff very friendly chatty and approachable. Food good. Breakfast in bed prompt hot and very nice. In ? Newer room. Needs a bit of attention to detail. Pink carpet poorly hung beige curtains no window blinds dark wood doors etc light wood furniture. Bathroom floor orange Lino. Not very modern but very clean. Reception poorly manned. Leisure facilities good but again no one on reception for advice etc. all in all nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Windlestrae in September and we were very impressed with the service from all members of staff. We used the leisure facilities and had treatments at the Beauty Room. All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and genuinely made you feel like they had time to chat to you. The bar staff and restaurant staff were attentive and despite having worked long shifts the previous day were still cheerful and welcoming the following morning.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel was easy to find. An enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here on Thursday 20th September, it is a lovely hotel the staff we couldn't fault really friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean although a bit dated, it had everything in that we needed, tea and coffee, trouser press and toiletries. Our dinner on the night was lovely we really enjoyed it, the breakfast on the morning had everything you could of wanted, fruit, cereal and a hearty scottish breakfast.
We never used the leisure facilities as we hadn't much time, but had used them on a previous occasin when we stayed at the sister hotel over the road and couldn't find fault a lovely pool, gym, or sauna. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We live not too far from the Windelstrae but chose to say over for a couple of nights for a family wedding.
From reception to bar through restaurant and housekeeping staff anyone we bumped into was genuinely friendly and helpful and the rest of our group all had the same experience.
It's refreshing to find a place who invest enough time in their staff to make them proud to be working there!
The hotel is straightforward and well priced for the facilities on offer (golf courses, swimming pool gym, choice of restaurants etc).

Room Tip: The hotel is (quietly) being refurbished - the newer rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VANCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

My son and I spent one night here on our way to Aberdeen. We were given a warm welcome which was great after nine hours of driving. The room was perfectly adequate though there was no view of anything apart from a roof. The swimming pool was very pleasant and we spent an hour or so in the pool as we were too late for any spa treatments.....a back massage would have been wonderful. We ate in Monty's where the food was good with plenty of variation on the menu but the service was slow and we waited over half an hour to have our plates cleared. We were not offered a dessert menu and had to ask for a couple of cappuccinos. The restaurant was not busy but I think the staff must have been elsewhere. On checking out we were given loads of helpful information and again the reception staff were friendly and chatty. We would definitely come back for another stay but would remember to ask for a room with a better view and a table nearer to the kitchen!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sj1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
24 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Property: Windlestrae Hotel
Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing