We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to come back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed two nights and definitely wasn't disappointed.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Couldn't fault the food, especially breakfast which we had via room service - yummy!
The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was huuuge!!
Fab weekend and on the lookout for our next visit - can't come soon enough!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindam1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    208
    101
    43
    31
See reviews for
76
247
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have to be be fair. Having looked previously at reviews of this hotel, I was somewhat hesitant in going to stay in it. I should not have been bothered. The staff were the most important people there, particularly Emma and Andrea who were kindness itself when my wife and I experienced two problems - they answered the problems admirably.
The facilities were excellent, food first class and our experience of the hotel proved that we would go back any time.

Room Tip: Ask Emma or Andrea - they know the best rooms to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul65Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to have a golf weekend away , unfortunately due to rain the courses were closed , however we did use the hotel leisure facilities and of course the bar facility , the Windlestrae rooms have all been refurbished , they are a good standard and quite roomy , the public areas of the hotel are a bit tired, and also needs upgrading , but Rome wasn't built In a day !! The staff were very accommodating and friendly , the breakfast was excellent as was the restaurant food. The value at this hotel is very good, we would definately return and hopefully play some golf . Thanks to all the staff for there service and smiles .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jack1338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airdrie north lanarkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Went to this hotel for a spa break with my husband and friends , the spa treatments were really nice and the girls were lovely , my friends were on the second floor and numerous guests had dogs with them who were barking and disturbing other guests who came away for a quiet break not very nice went for dinner which we booked table was not ready then when we were taken in we had to wait half an hour before anyone came to take drinks or food orders we were in the dining room well over a hour before our drinks and starter was served we spoke to one of the waitresses about this really don't like to complain but found this far to long and not acceptable time to wait on a drink and food eventually when we got the food it was nice but it put a damper on our dining, did not use any leisure facilities because they were very busy , don't think I would use this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loasacousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

If you are going to book a room in this hotel ensure that there are no dogs in any of the rooms nearby. We were situated on the ground floor (room 207) and 3 of the rooms nearby had dogs staying in them who all took turns at barking/howling at different times of the day or night............the most annoying at 6am!!! When we heard the dogs barking in the room the previous evening we mentioned it to reception so they could do something about it. Apparently dogs are not supposed to be left unsupervised in the rooms but this was obviously not adhered to or the owners just ignored the disturbance they were causing which if that is the case is extremely selfish of them at that time in the morning. Also the hotel appeared to be over run with dogs as there were at least 6 of them in the main lobby area at one point.. I do not dislike dogs but when away for a relaxing break with some friends after working really hard it would be nice to be able to get a good night's sleep without encountering this.
The rooms in the hotel are very basic and could be doing with a bit of sprucing up and upgrading. Also a good clean wouldn't go amiss as the windows and frames were filthy. The beds were very small and our friends had a large king-size bed we had a small double which also didn't give us a decent night's sleep. The only saving grace in the rooms were the bathrooms which had good showers and were very clean as opposed to the actual room itself which was ok but looked as though it could have done with a good deep clean & a coat of paint.
We ate in Monty's Restaurant and although the food was very good when it eventually came, the service was dreadful. Our table wasn't ready at the time it was booked for and we had to wait 15 mins. When we were finally seated it took about 20 mins to take our food and drink order and then another 30 mins for our starters to arrive. When we complained the staff did what they could to rectify the matter, especially Abbie who was lovely and gave us complementary drinks but it was really awful having to wait the length of time we did.
The breakfast was ok just basic standard fare but they had run out of a couple of things as it was about 30 mins until breakfast finished & it didn't look as though they were going to replenish anything so we had to make do with what was there.
All in all the staff were lovely but hotel needs a good upgrade/clean and I certainly wouldn't return unless they changed their policy on allowing dogs in the rooms and it really did disturb us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no dogs in adjacent or nearby rooms & ask for one with a king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McDAirdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kinross hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a deal through Itison which was for B&B round of golf and a spa treatment was very good value for money.

Decent enough hotel but decor very tired and is in desperate need of updating... Room was nice and large but every single floorboard creaked when you walked anywhere in room!! Food was good and Monty's restaurant was worth a visit, however staff not very efficient and a few people around us where complaining that they had to wait ages to be served..
Spa was great and the treatment was top class. Pool area was decent enough!! My partner thoroughly enjoyed the golf course and the club house served us a lovely lunch. He wants to go back in the summer to play but we would probably stay elsewhere..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We booked this one night stay with Hotel Connexions and it turned out to be a most enjoyable break. The staff at Reception and throughout the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. Our ground floor room was spacious and comfortable with a beautiful new bathroom. However TV reception was erratic .
We had a swim in the large pool (water was warm). Our evening meal in Monty's was excellent -service was a bit slow but the food was cooked to order ,so acceptable.
A hotel worthy of a visit , better than 3 star -we will be back.!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Property: Windlestrae Hotel
Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing